Charlie Byrd Byrd Song: Charlie Byrd with Voices

Byrd Song: Charlie Byrd with Voices
1 rating
Price: $10.78
You Save: $0.20 (2% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  QS8K
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: OJC


  • Buy for $0.991.This Can't Be Love
  • Buy for $0.992.Born to Be Blue
  • Buy for $0.993.I Left My Heart in San Francisco
  • Buy for $0.994.Who Will Buy
  • Buy for $0.995.The Night We Called It a Day
  • Buy for $0.996.Wildcat
  • Buy for $0.997.A Felicidade
  • Buy for $0.998.Action Painting
  • Buy for $0.999.This Can't Be Love
  • Buy for $0.9910.God Bless the Child
  • Buy for $1.2911.My Favorite Things
  • Buy for $0.9912.Swing 59

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Charlie Byrd (guitar); Keter Betts (bass); Bill Reichenbach (drums).
Recorded in 1965.
"Charlie Byrd With Voices" is an odd subtitle for this mid-'60s album, considering that vocals are only heard sporadically; that voices aren't even heard on some of the tracks; and that, when the vocals are heard, they're wordless background choral bits, not a vocalist or vocalists actually singing lyrics. In truth, it seems like a gimmick or an attempt to sell the album to a crossover audience, the vocal component of the record feeling like an afterthought. And not an especially inspired one, either; the white-bread soothing choruses sound like refugees from straight easy listening records. The album's actually for the most part a typical, if low-key, Byrd session, on which his only instrumental accompaniment consists of Keter Betts on bass and Bill Reichenbach on drums. Just a couple of Byrd originals, "Action Painting" and "Swing 59," are on a collection slanted toward covers of popular standards, including "I Left My Heart in San Francisco," Lionel Bart's "Who Will Buy?," Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Felicidade," Rodgers & Hart's "This Can't Be Love," Cole Porter's "Let's Do It," Rodgers & Hammerstein's "My Favorite Things," and Billie Holiday's "God Bless the Child." When played just by the trio, it's fine, with sterling Byrd guitar, though the less sappy and more forceful material (like "Wildcat") overshadows the more conventional romantic standards. When those voices enter, though, it treads on the annoyingly saccharine. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Charlie Byrd

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218709224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)