Charlie Byrd Au Courant

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
4 ratings
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  COJ 47792

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: February 16, 1998
  • Label: Concord Records


  • 1.This Can't Be Love
  • 2.My Romance
  • 3.St. Louis Blues
  • 4.On A Clear Day (You Can See Forever)
  • 5.There'll Be Some Changes Made
  • 6.If You Never Came To Me
  • 7.I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  • 8.Avalon
  • 9.Emily - (theme from "The Americanization Of Emily")
  • 10.There's A Small Hotel
  • 11.Blue Room
  • 12.Have You Met Miss Jones?
  • 13.Willow Weep For Me
  • 14.Days Of Wine And Roses

Product Description:

Charlie Byrd Trio: Charlie Byrd (guitar); Chuck Redd (vibraphone); Joe Byrd (bass).
Recorded at Omega Studios, Rockville, Maryland from April 8-9, 1997. Includes liner notes by Jim Ferguson.
Personnel: Charlie Byrd (guitar, acoustic guitar); Chuck Redd (vibraphone); Joe Byrd (acoustic bass).
Audio Mixer: Phil Edwards .
Liner Note Author: Jim Ferguson .
Recording information: Omega Studios, Rockville, MD (04/08/1997/04/09/1997).
Photographer: Dave Fischer.
That old Django Reinhardt buff Charlie Byrd actually gets something resembling the drive of the Hot Club Quintette on this CD at times, but with unusual means. With Charlie on acoustic guitar and brother Joe Byrd on bass, Charlie's longtime drummer Chuck Redd shifts over to the vibraphone, and the three independent voices tumble intricately all around each other in a collection of standards. While not absolutely impeccable in technique, Byrd continues to get around his instrument in a swinging manner, and Redd proves to be a more than serviceable performer on the vibes. Inevitably (for Byrd), the Brazilian influence surfaces on tracks like "On a Clear Day," Jobim's "If You Never Came to Me," and Rodgers/Hart's "There's a Small Hotel," all of which bring us gently back to 1962. A modest yet pleasing experiment for the Charlie Byrd collector. ~ Richard S. Ginell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Charlie Byrd

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 92,476
  • UPC: 013431477921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Jazz genre:

Top ranking CD: