Kenny Burrell Ballad Essentials

Ballad Essentials
1 rating
Price: $10.78
You Save: $0.20 (2% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  QS6H
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 25, 2005
  • Label: Concord Records


  • 1.A Sleepin' Bee
  • 2.Warm Valley
  • 3.Solitude
  • 4.I Thought About You
  • 5.Body and Soul
  • 6.Lost in the Stars
  • 7.Why Was I Born
  • 8.If You Could See Me Now
  • 9.'Round Midnight
  • 10.Jump For Joy
  • 11.I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  • 12.Blue in Green

Product Description:

Personnel: Kenny Burrell (guitar); Coleman Hawkins, John Coltrane (tenor saxophone); Joe Sample, Richard Wyands, Tom Ranier, Tommy Flanagan, Will Davis , Martin Rivera (piano); Jimmy Smith (organ); John Heard , Reggie Johnson , Larry Gates (bass instrument); Major Holley (double bass); Lenny McBrowne, Eddie Locke, Jimmie Smith , Paul Humphrey , Billy Gene English, Carl Burnett (drums).
Liner Note Author: Scott Yanow.
Ballad Essentials compiles 12 remastered tracks recorded by jazz guitarist Kenny Burrell between 1958 and 2002, encompassing his tenure with Prestige, Fantasy, Contemporary, and Concord Jazz. The romantic themes include four Duke Ellington compositions, the Miles Davis-penned "Blue in Green," and Thelonious Monk's "'Round Midnight." The bop-based Detroit guitarist is backed up on these dates by various all-star ensembles that feature John Coltrane, Tommy Flanagan, Coleman Hawkins, Joe Sample, Jimmy Smith, and numerous others. This is another well-chosen set in the Concord Jazz Ballad Essentials series. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Kenny Burrell

Product Info

  • UPC: 013431227823
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)