Ray Brown The Best of the Concord Years (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $19.98
Your Price: $17.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  COJ 2164

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: December 2, 2002
  • Label: Concord Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Buhaina Buhaina
  • 2.After You've Gone
  • 3.Days of Wine and Roses
  • 4.That's All
  • 5.Blues For Sam Nassi
  • 6.I'm Afraid the Masquerade Is Over
  • 7.The Real Blues
  • 8.Carioca Hills
  • 9.Exactly Like You
  • 10.Georgia on My Mind
  • 11.Keep on Pumpin'

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Onion Roll
  • 2.Gumbo Hump
  • 3.High Heel Sneakers
  • 4.Put Your Little Foot Right Out
  • 5.Ralph's Boogie
  • 6.Rockin' in Rhythm
  • 7.Lady Be Good
  • 8.Blue Bossa
  • 9.Like Someone in Love
  • 10.The Flintstones Theme
  • 11.Take the 'A' Train
  • 12.Just Friends
  • 13.Captain Bill

Product Description:

Personnel: Ray Brown (bass); Bud Shank (alto saxophone); Plas Johnson, Red Holloway, Ralph Moore (tenor saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison, Blue Mitchell (trumpet); John Frigo (violin); Gene Harris, Art Hillary, Monty Alexander, Hank Jones, Jimmy Rowles, George Duke (piano); Mike Melvoin (keyboards); Herb Ellis, Laurindo Almeida, Joe Pass (guitar); Jimmy Smith, Jeff Hamilton, Mickey Roker, Jake Hannah, Shelly Manne, Gerryck King (drums).
Producer: Carl E. Jefferson.
Compilation producer: Nick Phillips.
Recorded between 1974 & 1992. Includes liner notes by Phil Elwood.
Ray Brown was in at the beginning of the Concord Jazz record label in the early '70s, and starting with Brown's Bag in 1975, he recorded a dozen albums as a leader for Concord before departing for Telarc Records in the early '90s. This two-disc compilation, with a running time of almost two hours and 20 minutes, presents 24 selections drawn from 19 Concord Jazz albums recorded between 1973 and 1993, including live performances at the Concord Jazz Festivals, recordings by Brown's trio and the L.A. 4, and a Brown duet with Jimmy Rowles, among other configurations. As a bass player, Brown only rarely solos, so one usually notices the horn players (Harry "Sweets" Edison, Red Holloway, Plas Johnson, Richie Kamuca, Blue Mitchell, Ralph Moore, and Bud Shank), the pianists (Monty Alexander, George Duke, Gene Harris, Art Hillery, and Rowles), or other frontline musicians (guitarists Laurindo Almeida, Herb Ellis, and Joe Pass, violinist John Frigo) before the rhythm section. But even when Brown isn't stepping out, he is maintaining the group's swing, along with drummers John Guerin, Jeff Hamilton, Jake Hanna, Gerryck King, Shelly Manne, Mickey Roker, and Jimmie Smith, and he also wrote a number of the tunes. Brown had done relatively few sessions as a leader in the 30 years of his career prior to his association with Concord, so, while the label owes him a lot, he also was enabled to flourish with the company in a way he had not before, and that is reflected in this well-chosen compilation. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Ray Brown

Product Info:

  • UPC: 013431216421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.32/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items