Wednesday Week What We Had [Bonus Tracks]

What We Had [Bonus Tracks]
8 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $0.90 (5% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  DFW8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 29, 2008
  • Originally Released: 1987
  • Label: Noble Rot

Description by

This special, digipak reissue not only features the L.A. girl group's 1987, Don Dixon-produced album "Wednesday Week", but ten *bonus tracks* including their complete debut EP "Betsy's House" and five more tracks pulled from the band's archives! The original album includes "Why"; "Feel So Small"; "Sometimes"; "I Thought"; "Missionary"; "If Only"; "Circle"; "All That Again"; "Suicide"; "Boy (You Got Me Good)"; "Looking Back", and "Forever", while "Perspective"; "I Hate Lying to Mom"; "Sad Little Dog"; "Pretty Circles", and "I Don't Know" come from "Betsy's House". Plus, an alternate version of "You Wanted Me to Hang Around"; the unreleased "All So Clear"; "Christmas Here" from an obscure Midnight Records holiday compilation; the fanclub single "Leopard", and the title track to their 1990 "No Going Back" album on the Sweden Spins label. Notes are by Kristi Callan herself!


  • 1.Why
  • 2.Feel So Small
  • 3.I Wonder What You Hear
  • 4.Sometimes
  • 5.I Thought
  • 6.Missionary
  • 7.If Only
  • 8.Circle
  • 9.All That Again
  • 10.Suicide
  • 11.Boy (You Got Me Good)
  • 12.Looking Back
  • 13.Forever
  • 14.Perspective (Bonus Track)
  • 15.I Hate Lying To Mom (Bonus Track)
  • 16.Sad Little Dog (Bonus Track)
  • 17.Pretty Cities (Bonus Track)
  • 18.I Don't Know (Bonus Track)
  • 19.You Wanted Me To Hang Around (Bonus Track)
  • 20.The Leopard (Bonus Track)
  • 21.Christmas Here (Bonus Track)
  • 22.Also Clear (Bonus Track)
  • 23.No Going Back (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Wednesday Week: Kristi Callan (vocals, guitar); Heidi Rodewald (vocals, piano, organ, keyboards, bass instrument, bass guitar); David Nolte (guitar, keyboards); Kelly Callan (drums, drum).
Personnel: Joe Nolte, Tom Alford, Kjehl Johansen (guitar); Vitus Matar‚ (flute, keyboards); Jeff Burgess, Jeff Burgess (drums).
Recording information: Reflection Sound Studio, Charlotte, NC.
Photographer: Don Williams .
There are moments on Wednesday Week's debut album, What We Had, when you can't shake the feeling that they were to the Bangles what John Cafferty was to Bruce Springsteen. However, while Kristi Callan's songs may have followed the same pop influences as the Bangles and the band's jangly guitars revealed a similar enthusiasm for classic folk-rock and power pop, What We Had captures the sort of energy and spunk that their counterparts lost after All Over the Place. Don Dixon's punchy but muscular production gives Wednesday Week an admirably full and energetic sound on these sessions, and the band is tight without seeming mechanical; David Nolte's lead guitar carries the melodies while keeping the horizons clean and clear, and drummer Kelly Callan and bassist Heidi Rodewald are a solid rhythm section who hold down the beat and bolster the tunes with smarts and efficiency. The group's attempts to reach for big themes on songs like "Suicide" and "Missionary" don't quite hit the mark, but the melodies invariably carry the day and the group certainly knows how to make the most of them. What We Had is very much a product of its time -- the production and songcraft announces this as a product of the mid-'80s even if you didn't know the release date -- but if Wednesday Week weren't the most original band on the block, they captured more of what was good about the era than what was bad, and all these years later these songs are at least as enjoyable (if not more so) as that copy of Different Light you haven't played in years. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Wednesday Week

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742501629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)