Billy Bragg Volume 1 (9-CD + 2-DVD)

Volume 1 (9-CD + 2-DVD)
3 ratings
Price: $73.78
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (11 Discs)
sku:  YS4E
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 11
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Yep Roc Records

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Strange Things Happen
  • 2.The Cloth
  • 3.Love Lives Here
  • 4.Speedway Hero
  • 5.Loving You Too Long
  • 6.This Guitar Says Sorry
  • 7.Love Gets Dangerous
  • 8.The Cloth
  • 9.Man in the Iron Mask
  • 10.A13
  • 11.Fear Is a Man's Best Friend

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.It Must Be a River
  • 2.Won't Talk About It
  • 3.Talking Wag Club Blues
  • 4.You Got the Power
  • 5.The Last Time
  • 6.Back to the Old House
  • 7.A Lover Sings
  • 8.Which Side Are You On
  • 9.It Says Here
  • 10.Between the Wars
  • 11.World Turned Upside Down

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Sin City
  • 2.Deportees
  • 3.There Is Power in a Union
  • 4.Tracks of My Tears
  • 5.Wishing the Days Away
  • 6.The Clashing of Ideologies
  • 7.Greetings to the New Brunette
  • 8.A Nurse's Life Is Full of Woe
  • 9.Only Bad Signs
  • 10.Hold the Fort

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 15.Joe Hill
  • 16.This Land Is Your Land
  • 17.Never Cross a Picket Line
  • 18.A Change Is Gonna Come
  • 19.A Miners Life

Product Description:

Even devoted Billy Bragg fans who have followed the singer-songwriter's albums throughout the '90s and 2000s are likely to agree that the artist's best work is his earliest. Bragg was a passionate, outspoken figure who married punk immediacy to folk-styled songwriting, and whose unerringly clever and detail-rich lyrics addressed both political and emotional matters with equal insight. He released a series of albums and EPs in the '80s that still sound fresh and relevant today.
VOLUME 1 BOX SET is a compendium of all of Bragg's early recordings, including his debut EP LIFE'S A RIOT WITH SPY VS. SPY, his excellent full-length albums BREWING UP WITH BILLY BRAGG and TALKING WITH THE TAXMAN ABOUT POETRY, and the various EPs and singles in between. VOLUME 1 also includes work from THE INTERNATIONALE, the 1990 release that marked the change in Bragg's approach from stripped-down singer-with-guitar to a more a robust, pop-oriented sound. The set is packed with extras, including alternate takes, rare singles, unreleased material, and two DVDs featuring concert and television appearances. But the thrill of having Bragg's excellent songs from the era--and there are many of them--under one cover is the set's real treasure.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Billy Bragg

Product Info

  • UPC: 634457260023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 11 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)