Yessir, That's My Baby

Yessir, That's My Baby
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  PAB 23109232
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: Pablo


  • Buy for $0.991.Blues For Roy
  • Buy for $0.992.Teach Me Tonight
  • 3.Joe Turner
  • Buy for $0.994.Blues For C. T.
  • Buy for $0.995.Yessir, That's My Baby
  • Buy for $0.996.Tea For Two
  • Buy for $0.997.After You've Gone
  • Buy for $0.998.Poor Butterfly

Product Description:

Personnel: Count Basie, Oscar Peterson (piano); John Heard (bass); Louis Bellson (drums).
Recorded at Group IV Recording Studios, Hollywood, California on February 21, 1978. Includes original liner notes by Benny Green.
Digitally remastered by George Horn (1986, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Count Basie (piano, organ); Oscar Peterson (piano, organ); Louie Bellson (drums).
Recording information: 02/21/1978.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Count Basie; Oscar Peterson.
Count Basie was in his mid 70s when he went into the studio to record these eight performances with another famous pianist, Oscar Peterson. These two artists work well together in an atmosphere of intimacy. Although their styles are different, their masterful abilities contrast and compliment each other in a satisfying way.
Basie's manner of piano playing is succinct, sticking to and exploiting the melody with an exquisite economy. Paraphrasing the songs with emphasis in all the right places, he whittles the tune into a more profound version of itself. Peterson's playing is busier, with a sense of exploration. His lyrical work is especially distinctive on the electric keyboard in "After You've Gone." Basie's work on this number is just as affecting, his short, repeating flourishes of notes create pleasing patterns.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218092326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)