Count Basie One O'Clock Jump: The Very Best of Count Basie [Legacy]

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
3 ratings
List Price: $11.98
SALE PRICE: $10.43
You Save: $1.55 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  SNY 817442

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 1, 2006
  • Label: Sony Mod - Afw Line


  • 1.One O'Clock Jump
  • 2.Boogie Woogie (I May Be Wrong)
  • 3.Oh, Lady Be Good
  • 4.Lester Leaps In
  • 5.Rock-A-Bye-Basie
  • 6.Taxi War Dance
  • 7.Miss Thing Part 1
  • 8.Miss Thing Part 2
  • 9.Clap Hands! Here Comes Charlie
  • 10.Tickle Toe
  • 11.Broadway
  • 12.Goin' To Chicago Blues
  • 13.Moten Swing - (live)
  • 14.Jumpin' At The Woodside - (live)

Product Description:

Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Freddie Green (guitar); Tab Smith (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Earle Warren, Caughey Roberts (alto saxophone); Don Byas, Buddy Tate (tenor saxophone); Jack Washington (baritone saxophone); Ed Lewis, Carl "Tatti" Smith , Al Killian, Shad Collins (trumpet); Dicky Wells, Robert Scott, Eli Robinson, Benny Morton's All Stars, Vic Dickenson, Dan Minor, Ed Cuffee (trombone); Jimmy Rushing (vocals); Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison , Buck Clayton (trumpet); Jo Jones (drums).
Recording information: Cafe Society Uptown, NY (11/09/1936-06/27/1942); Chicago, IL (11/09/1936-06/27/1942); Los Angeles, CA (11/09/1936-06/27/1942); New York, NY (11/09/1936-06/27/1942); Panther Room, Hotel Sherman, Chicago, IL (11/09/1936-06/27/1942).
Arrangers: Buck Clayton; Henri Woode; Andy Gibson .
One O'Clock Jump spotlights many of Count Basie's best-known and most popular performances for Decca Records between 1932 and 1947. Figuring prominently in both the Basie-led orchestra and small combos are Lester Young and Herschel Evans on tenors, trumpeters Buck Clayton and Harry "Sweets" Edison, and blues shouter Jimmy Rushing, not to mention the All-American Rhythm Section of Basie at the piano, guitarist Freddie Green, bassist Walter Page, and drummer Jo Jones. The 51 tracks contain classic compositions from the swing era, including "One O'Clock Jump," "Sent for You Yesterday," "Blue and Sentimental," "Jumpin' at the Woodside," "Jive at Five," and many others. These Decca sessions, reissued here in glorious mono, contain the performances that brought about Basie's fame as one of the greatest bandleaders in the history of jazz. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 42,649
  • UPC: 828768174425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: