Count Basie Count Basie's Finest Hour

Count Basie's Finest Hour
11 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.61 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.38 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YRYK
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: UMVD Labels


  • Buy for $0.991.One O'Clock Jump
  • Buy for $0.992.Topsy
  • Buy for $0.993.Every Tub
  • Buy for $0.994.Swingin' the Blues
  • Buy for $0.995.Blues Backstage
  • Buy for $1.296.Eventide
  • Buy for $1.297.April in Paris
  • Buy for $1.298.Corner Pocket
  • Buy for $1.299.Shiny Stockings
  • Buy for $0.9910.All of Me
  • Buy for $0.9911.The Second Time Around
  • Buy for $0.9912.Li'l Ol' Groovemaker
  • Buy for $0.9913.Count Me In
  • Buy for $0.9914.Doodle Oodle
  • Buy for $0.9915.Li'l Darlin'
  • Buy for $0.9916.Broadway

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Count Basie (piano); Marshal Royal (alto saxophone); Frank Foster, Frank Wess, Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Buck Clayton, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Thad Jones (trumpet); Urbie Green, Benny Powell (trombone); Freddie Green (guitar); Jo Jones (drums).
Producers include: Jim Davis, Norman Granz, Tom Mack, Teddy Reig.
Compilation producer: Bryan Koniarz.
Recorded between 1937 & 1969. Includes liner notes by Andrew Homzy.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Count Basie (piano, organ); Eddie Durham (guitar, trombone); Freddie Green (guitar); Frank Wess (flute, clarinet, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Bobby Plater (flute, alto saxophone); Eric Dixon (flute, tenor saxophone); Marshall Royal (clarinet, alto saxophone); Frank Foster (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Charlie Fowlkes (bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Ernie Wilkins (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Earle Warren, Jack Washington (alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis , Herschel Evans, Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Al Aarons (trumpet, flugelhorn); Reunald Jones, Don Rader, Ed Lewis, Bob Moore , Flip Ricard, Harry "Sweets" Edison , Gene Coe, Joe Newman , Oscar Brashear, Snooky Young, Thad Jones, Sonny Cohn, Wendell Culley, Buck Clayton (trumpet); Bill Hughes (trombone, bass trombone); Frank Hooks, Grover Mitchell , Henry Coker, George Hunt, Richard Boone , Urbie Green, Benny Morton, Benny Powell, Dan Minor (trombone); Gus Johnson , Jo Jones , Sonny Payne, Harold Jones (drums).
Liner Note Author: Andrew Homzy.
Recording information: Blue Room, Hotel Tropicana, Las Vegas, NV (07/07/1937-01/30/1969); Fine Sound, New York, NY (07/07/1937-01/30/1969); New York, NY (07/07/1937-01/30/1969); R&B Studios, New York, NY (07/07/1937-01/30/1969).
Arrangers: Chico O'Farrill; Eddie Durham; Frank Foster; Freddie Green; Neal Hefti; Quincy Jones; Wild Bill Davis; Billy Byers; Buster Smith .
The Verve compilation Count Basie's Finest Hour features a nice mix of sides recorded by the pianist/bandleader and his big band over the years. While it is by no means a definitive overview, it is a nice single-disc introduction to some of the jazz icon's best work. Included are such legendary tracks as "Corner Pocket," "One O'Clock Jump," and "Li'l Darlin'." ~ Matt Collar

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 59,306
  • UPC: 731458963721
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)