Count Basie Breakfast Dance and Barbecue [Bonus Track] (Live)

Breakfast Dance and Barbecue [Bonus Track] (Live)
7 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YRYE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 11, 2001
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Deacon, The - (bonus track)
  • 2.Cute - (bonus track)
  • 3.In A Mellow Tone
  • 4.No Moon At All - (bonus track)
  • 5.Cherry Red - (bonus track)
  • 6.Roll 'Em Pete - (bonus track)
  • 7.Cherry Point - (bonus track)
  • 8.Splanky - (bonus track)
  • 9.Counter Block
  • 10.Li'l Darlin' - (bonus track)
  • 11.Who, Me?
  • 12.Five O'Clock In The Morning
  • 13.Every Day I Have The Blues - (bonus track)
  • 14.Back To The Apple - (bonus track)
  • 15.Let's Have A Taste
  • 16.Moten Swing
  • 17.Hallelujah, I Love Her So
  • 18.One O'Clock Jump - (featuring Harry "Sweets" Edison)

Product Description:

This reissue contains several bonus tracks not included on the original 1959 LP.
Count Basie & His Orchestra: Count Basie (piano); Frank Foster (arranger, tenor saxophone); Thad Jones (arranger, trumpet); Neal Hefti, Ernie Wilkins, Nat Pierce (arranger); Joe Williams (vocals); Frank Wess (alto & tenor saxophones, flute); Marshal Royal (alto saxophone); Billy Mitchell (tenor saxophone); Charlie Fowlkes (baritone saxophone); Joe Newman, Wendell Culley, Snooky Young, Harry "Sweets" Edison (trumpet); Al Grey, Henry Coker, Benny Powell (trombones); Freddie Green (guitar); Eddie Jones (bass); Sonny Payne (drums).
Producer: Teddy Reig.
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded live at The Americana Hotel, Miami, Florida on May 31, 1959. Originally released on Roulette (52028). Includes reissue liner notes by
Chris Sheridan.
Digitally remastered by Malcolm Addey and Ron McMaster.
Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Joe Williams (vocals); Freddie Green (guitar); Frank Wess (flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Marshall Royal (alto saxophone); Frank Foster (tenor saxophone); Charlie Fowlkes (baritone saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison , Joe Newman , Snooky Young, Thad Jones, Wendell Culley (trumpet); Al Grey, Benny Powell (trombone); Sonny Payne (drums).
Liner Note Author: Chris Sheridan.
Recording information: The Americana Hotel, Miami, FL (05/31/1959).
Arrangers: Ernie Wilkins; Francis Foster; Nat Pierce; Neal Hefti; Thad Jones.
The Count Basie Orchestra is heard on this album playing live at a disc-jockey convention in Miami. Their first of three sets took place at 2 a.m. but the late hour if anything kept the band loose. Most of the selections on this record were not recorded during that era, including fine charts on "In a Mellow Tone" and "Moten Swing." ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353179120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)