Count Basie Count Basie in London (Live)

Count Basie in London (Live)
5 ratings
Price: $10.78
You Save: $0.20 (2% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YRXR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1987
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Jumpin' at the Woodside
  • Buy for $0.992.Shiny Stockings
  • Buy for $0.993.How High the Moon
  • Buy for $0.994.Nails
  • Buy for $1.295.Flute Juice
  • Buy for $0.996.One O'Clock Jump
  • Buy for $0.997.Alright, Okay, You Win
  • Buy for $0.998.Roll 'Em Pete
  • Buy for $0.999.The Comeback
  • Buy for $1.2910.Blues Backstage
  • Buy for $0.9911.Corner Pocket
  • Buy for $0.9912.Blee Blop Blues
  • Buy for $0.9913.Yesterdays - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Untitled - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2915.Sixteen Men Swinging - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Plymouth Rock - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Joe Williams (vocals); Reunald Jones, Thad Jones, Joe Newman, Wendall Culley (trumpet); Benny Powell, Henry Coker, Matthew Gee (trombone); Marshall Royal, Bill Graham, Frank Foster, Frank Wess, Charlie Fowlkes (reeds); Freddie Green (guitar); Eddie Jones (bass); Sonny Payne (drums).
Recorded live in Gothenburg, Sweden, September 7, 1956.
Digitally remastered by Dennis Drake.
Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Joe Williams (vocals); Freddie Green (guitar); Frank Foster, Frank Wess, Marshall Royal, Bill Graham, Charlie Fowlkes (reeds); Reunald Jones, Joe Newman , Thad Jones, Wendell Culley (trumpet); Henry Coker, Matthew Gee, Benny Powell (trombone); Sonny Payne (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Dennis Drake.
Recording information: Gothenburg, Sweden (09/07/1956).
Photographer: Herman Leonard.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Seth Rothstein; Richard Seidel.
IN LONDON captures the Count Basie Orchestra of the mid '50s, during a period of great excitement. Basie and company play their usual repertoire including "Jumpin' at the Woodside," "Shiny Stockings," and "Corner Pocket," while vocalist Joe Williams adds a distinctly bluesy touch to "Alright, Okay You Win," "Roll 'em Pete," and others. Moreover, as an added bonus, Verve records includes four previously unreleased tracks.
Recorded after the bebop revolution--and featuring some of its main practitioners, such as Thad Jones--IN LONDON represents considerable change for Basie. Lyrical blues solos, ala Sweets Edison and Lester Young, are now replaced with flashier, albeit virtuoso-bop-inflected, improvisations. Thankfully though, this inevitable modernization never interferes with Basie's basic "swing" philosophy. Indeed, swing's main tenets are still observed here, with great care. Basie's stride roots are also still heard on tracks such as "Blee, Blop Blues" and "Plymouth Rock." The only mystery that surrounds this release is its title--this concert was recorded in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info

  • UPC: 042283380523
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)