Chet Baker Baby Breeze

Baby Breeze
6 ratings
Price: $11.69
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  V9J2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Baby Breeze
  • Buy for $0.992.Born to Be Blue
  • Buy for $0.993.This Is the Thing
  • Buy for $0.994.I Wish You Love
  • Buy for $0.995.Everything Depends on You
  • Buy for $0.996.One with One
  • Buy for $0.997.Pamela's Passion
  • Buy for $0.998.The Touch of Your Lips
  • Buy for $0.999.Comin' Down
  • Buy for $0.9910.You're Mine, You
  • Buy for $0.9911.Sweet Sue, Just You - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Taste of Honey, A - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Think Beautiful - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Wish You Love - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • 15.Think Beautiful - (previously unreleased, alternate take)

Product Description:

This 1999 reissue contains five bonus tracks not included on the original release.
Personnel: Chet Baker (vocals, flugelhorn); Frank Strozier (alto saxophone, flute); Phil Urso (tenor saxophone); Bob James, Hal Galper, Bobby Scott (piano); Kenny Burrell (guitar); Michael Fleming (bass); Charlie Rice (drums).
Producer: Bobby Scott.
Reissue producers: Bryan Koniarz, Jerry Rappaport.
Recorded at A&R Studios, New York, New York on November 14 & 20, 1964. Originally released on Limelight (86003). Includes liner notes by Chet Baker and Dan Morgenstern.
Digitally remastered by Kevin Reeves (PolyGram Studios).
This is part of Verve's Verve By Request series.
Personnel: Chet Baker (vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn); Kenny Burrell (guitar); Frank Strozier (flute, alto saxophone); Phil Urso (tenor saxophone); Hal Galper, Hilary James , Bobby Scott (piano); Charlie Rice (drums).
Recording information: A&R Studios, New York, NY (01/14/1965-02/14/1965); New York, NY (01/14/1965-02/14/1965).
Arrangers: Hal Galper; Phil Urso; Bobby Scott.
After a five year European sojourn (including time in an Italian jail) cool jazz trumpeter Chet Baker returned to the States in good form to record this unusual date for the Limelight label in 1964. For starters, he was playing flugelhorn, an instrument he'd recently acquired to replace a stolen trumpet in France. Secondly, the date was produced by Bobby Scott, the English composer of "A Taste Of Honey," included here as a bonus track. Baker sings the folk-like melody with conviction, accompanied only by Scott himself on piano. In fact, Baker's plaintive vocals on this tune and others like Mel Torme's "Born To be Blue" and Ray Noble's "The Touch Of Your Lips" represent his best singing on record in a decade.
The session is smartly divided between these minimally accompanied vocals--the understated guitarist Kenny Burrell makes a welcome appearance on some--and straight-ahead instrumentals with full combo including the fine altoist Frank Strozier. The rich-toned flugelhorn suits Baker's characteristic lyricism and he negotiates pianist Hal Galper's originals with aplomb.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Chet Baker

Product Info

  • UPC: 731453832824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)