Chet Baker West Coast Live (2-CD)

West Coast Live (2-CD)
6 ratings
Price: $35.98
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  GGEK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 25, 1997
  • Label: Blue Note Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.My Funny Valentine
  • 2.Strike up the Band
  • 3.The Way You Look Tonight
  • 4.Yardbird Suite
  • 5.Yesterdays
  • 6.Winter Wonderland
  • 7.Come Out Wherever You Are
  • 8.Move
  • 9.What's New
  • 10.Half Nelson
  • 11.Little Willie Leaps
  • 12.Soft Shoe
  • 13.Whispering

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Bernie's Tune
  • 2.All the Things You Are
  • 3.Winter Wonderland - (take 2)
  • 4.Gone With the Wind
  • 5.All the Things You Are
  • 6.Darn That Dream
  • 7.Crazy Rhythm

Product Description:

Personnel: Chet Baker (vocals, trumpet); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Russ Freeman (piano); Carson Smith (bass); Larry Bunker, Shelly Manne (drums).
Producer: Richard Bock.
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded live at the Haig and The Tiffany Club, Los Angeles, California on June 12, 1953 & August 17, 1954. Includes liner notes by James Gavin.
Digitally remastered by Malcolm Addey.
One of the most infamously acrimonious musical unions transpired between two of the leading purveyors of West Coast cool jazz: Chet Baker (trumpet) and Stan Getz (tenor sax). Their paths crossed only a handful of times and West Coast Live captures two of their earliest encounters in Los Angeles at the Haig on June 12, 1953, and the Tiffany Club on August 17, 1953. These recordings have been issued in Europe and Japan ad infinitum in varying degrees of quality, completeness, and often sporting erroneous data. However, enthusiasts should note that West Coast Live is the only release derived from producer/engineer Dick Bock's own master reels. For two men who purportedly would rather not be in the same room at the same time, Baker and Getz are able to create some legitimately brilliant improvisation. For the Haig set, Getz had been brought in to co-lead a quartet with Baker for an incarcerated Gerry Mulligan. Musically the results vacillate. There are moments of sheer inspiration, such as the musical cat and mouse demonstrated on "Strike up the Band" or the straight-ahead driving-bop lines the two bandy on "Yardbird Suite," which includes tasty solos from Carson Smith (bass) and Larry Bunker (drums). There are likewise the brass entanglements that plague "The Way You Look Tonight" as well as the opening of "Winter Wonderland," which suffers from the "too many cooks" syndrome. The second and shorter set is taken from a recording session held during the afternoon -- hence the lack of an audience response after each number -- at the Tiffany Club. Baker's quartet at the time featured Russ Freeman (piano) and Shelly Manne (drums), as well as Carson Smith (bass), who reprised his role at the heart of this quintet. All three tracks contain very little in the way of interaction between Baker and Getz, featuring more of the support trio than the two co-leads. ~ Lindsay Planer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Chet Baker

Product Info

  • UPC: 724383563425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)