Chet Baker Deep in a Dream: The Ultimate Chet Baker Collection

Deep in a Dream: The Ultimate Chet Baker
5 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GGEE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 7, 2002
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.My Funny Valentine - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 2.Aren't You Glad You're You
  • 3.This Time the Dream's on Me
  • 4.The Thrill Is Gone
  • 5.Blue Room, The - (previously unreleased, solo vocal)
  • 6.Spring Is Here - (previously unreleased, solo vocal)
  • 7.The Wind
  • 8.Let's Get Lost - (alternate take)
  • 9.You Don't Know What Love Is
  • 10.Summer Sketch
  • 11.Halema
  • 12.Ponder
  • 13.A Night on Bop Mountain
  • 14.Little Girl Blue
  • 15.Alone Together
  • 16.Deep in a Dream
  • 17.Whatever Possessed Me
  • 18.Petite Fleur (Little Flower)
  • 19.My Funny Valentine - (vocal)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Chet Baker (vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn); Johnny Mandel, Bob Florence, Tadd Dameron, Len Mercer (arranger); Bud Shank (alto saxophone, flute); Phil Urso (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Gerry Mulligan, Pepper Adams (baritone saxophone); Herbie Mann (flute); Russ Freeman, Bobby Timmons, Bill Evans, Hal Galper (piano); Kenny Burrell, David "Buck" Wheat (guitar); Carson Smith, Bob Whitlock, Joe Mondragon, Leroy Vinnegar, Jimmy Bond, Ross Savakus, Paul Chambers (bass); Chico Hamilton, Larry Bunker, Bob Neel, Shelly Manne, Peter Littman, Connie Kay (drums).
Producers include: Ricahrd Bock, Orrin Keepmews, Jack Lewis.
Compilation producer: James Gavin.
Recorded between 1952 & 1965. Includes liner notes by James Gavin.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Chet Baker (vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn); Kenny Burrell (guitar); Seymour Barab (cello); George Kast, Felix Slatkin, Victor Gottlieb, Jacques Gasselin, Louis Kievman, Samuel Cytron, Paul Robyn, Eudice Shapiro, Paul Shure (strings); Bud Shank (flute, alto saxophone); Herbie Mann (flute); Bob Tricarico (bassoon); Glauco Masetti (alto saxophone); Gianni Basso, Phil Urso (tenor saxophone); Fausto Papetti, Gerry Mulligan, Pepper Adams (baritone saxophone); James Buffington (flugelhorn); Mario Pezzotta (trombone); Hal Galper, Russ Freeman , Bill Evans , Bobby Timmons (piano); Chico Hamilton, Connie Kay, Charlie Rice, Gene Victory, Larry Bunker, Shelly Manne, Peter Littman, Bob Neel (drums).
Liner Note Author: James Gavin.
Recording information: Carlton Theater, Los Angeles, CA (09/1952-12/1965); Gold Star Studios, Los Angeles, CA (09/1952-12/1965); Los Angeles, CA (09/1952-12/1965); New York, NY (09/1952-12/1965); Radio Recorders Studio, Los Angeles, CA (09/1952-12/1965); San Francisco, CA (09/1952-12/1965); The Forum Theater, Los Angeles, CA (09/1952-12/1965).
Photographers: Herman Leonard; Carole Reiff.
Arrangers: Len Mercer; Johnny Mandel; Tadd Dameron; Bob Florence; Bob Zieff.
By no means essential to fans, Deep in a Dream: The Ultimate Chet Baker Collection is still a wonderful resource for first-time listeners to discover Baker. His gorgeous trumpet playing displayed a passion and energy that was fueled by a tragic life filled with bad luck, jail sentences, and heroin abuse. Despite all of his problems, he still maintained an incredible sound, giving his music the emotional punch it needed to rise above simple pop music. Tracks like "My Funny Valentine" and "The Thrill Is Gone" are some of the most beautiful jazz songs ever performed, and their power lies in the lazy slurs and tense bursts supplied by Baker's horn. Fans may want this for the previously unreleased vocal tracks of "Blue Room" and "Spring Is Here," but this is more oriented toward curious listeners. Few other Baker collections could match this for sheer quality, so anyone looking to start their journey into his catalog would do themselves a favor by picking this up first. ~ Bradley Torreano

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Chet Baker

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353593728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)