Chet Baker Chet Baker Quartet Featuring Russ Freeman

Chet Baker Quartet Featuring Russ Freeman
8 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GGE5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Isn't It Romantic?
  • 2.The Lamp Is Low
  • 3.This Time the Dream's on Me
  • 4.Maid in Mexico
  • 5.Russ Job
  • 6.Imagination
  • 7.Long Ago (And Far Away) - (10" LP Take)
  • 8.Long Ago (And Far Away) - (12" LP Take)
  • 9.Carson City Stage
  • 10.Easy to Love
  • 11.Batter Up
  • 12.No Ties - (10" LP Take)
  • 13.No Ties - (12" LP Take)
  • 14.All the Things You Are
  • 15.Thrill Is Gone, The - (10" LP Take)
  • 16.Thrill Is Gone, The - (12" LP Take)
  • 17.Band Aid
  • 18.Bea's Flat
  • 19.Moon Love - (10" LP Take)
  • 20.Moon Love - (12" LP Take)
  • 21.Happy Little Sunbeam
  • 22.Happy Little Sunbeam - (alternate take)
  • 23.I Fall in Love Too Easily
  • 24.Winter Wonderland - (78 Take)
  • 25.Winter Wonderland - (LP Take)

Product Description:

Personnel: Chet Baker (vocals, trumpet); Russ Freeman (piano); Bob Whitlock, Carson Smith, Joe Mondragon (bass); Bobby White, Larry Bunker, Shelly Manne (drums).
Producer: Richard Bock.
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded in Los Angeles, California in July and October 1953. Includes liner notes by Doug Ramsey.
Digitally remastered using 20-bit technology by Ron McMaster.
This is part of Pacific Jazz Records' West Coast Classics series.
Personnel: Chet Baker (trumpet); Russ Freeman (piano); Shelly Manne (drums).
Liner Note Author: Pete Welding.
Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (07/24/1953-10/??/1953).
Director: Russ Freeman .
Illustrator: John Altoon.
Photographer: William Claxton.
These early sides for the Pacific Jazz label feature a young Chet Baker just at the beginning of his musical prime. Baker is joined by many of his regular West Coast buddies, and on the whole, the sessions encapsulate the essence of the West Coast "cool" style that was coming into its own in the early '50s.
Since this was still the age of the 10-inch disc, Baker and Freeman produce many fine, concise solo efforts, keeping the arrangements short but full of life. Baker plays trumpet throughout, but puts in a gorgeous vocal performance on his soon-to-be signature ballad "I Fall in Love Too Easily," greatly shortened here and taken at a slightly quicker pace than usual. Freeman proves to be Baker's ultimate musical compatriot, keeping pace with the young trumpeter every step of the way. Standout cuts include the dreamy "Isn't it Romantic," the wonderfully frantic swinger "Bea's Flat," and two cuts of the delightfully arranged "Winter Wonderland."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Chet Baker

Product Info

  • UPC: 724349316423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)