Anticon Music for the Advancement of Hip Hop

Music for the Advancement of Hip Hop
30 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $13.48
SUPER SAVINGS: $11.96 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $3.02 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  GGAS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Massmen Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Propaganda (Intro)
  • Buy for $0.992.Rainmen
  • Buy for $0.993.[Untitled Track]
  • Buy for $0.994.Interlude #1
  • Buy for $0.995.Savior
  • Buy for $0.996.It's Them
  • Buy for $0.997.Interlude #2
  • Buy for $0.998.Divine Disappointment
  • Buy for $0.999.Meditations
  • Buy for $0.9910.Human Races the Tortoise
  • Buy for $0.9911.My Little Habit
  • Buy for $0.9912.Nothing But Sunshine
  • Buy for $0.9913.Interlude #3
  • Buy for $0.9914.Martyr Theme Song
  • Buy for $0.9915.Simulated Snow
  • Buy for $0.9916.Interlude #4
  • Buy for $0.9917.Holy Shit!
  • Buy for $0.9918.Bright Moments

Product Description:

This is a continuous in-the-mix CD compiled and mixed by DJ Signify and DJ Mayonnaise.
Performers include: Buck 65, Them, DJ Signify, Mr. Skurge, Sole, Moodswing9, Deep Puddle Dynamics, Slug, EyeDea, Alias, Dose, 6.2, The Pedestrian, Cosmick Lovefuck.
From the title you should know this isn't your average hip hop record. Anticon's sound is an acquired taste. The various MC's that make up Anticon almost seem like they want to be different. They revel in it. They want to push boundaries of hip hop. They may not, but they try. On the beat of "It's Them" you hear it repeat a few times then it gets cut up and slowed down and Dose flows with the choppy beat. But with lyrics like "It doesn't look like an ice sculpture!...or does it?" doesn't really do much for the listener. One bright spot on this album is "Nothing but Sunshine" by Slug. Where he talks about what he went through as a kid over a nice piano beat done by Moodswing9. Another nice track is "Simulated Snow" by Sixtoo who also did the beat. The beat at first starts off with just a piano loop then the drums slowly creep in and out, and they change enough to keep the listener entertained by themselves. Sixtoo's lyrics are nice but there is no passion behind them, his delivery is dry. So if you want to hear some abstract hip hop from a variety of different artists this may be the album for you. ~ Dan Gizzi

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 30 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 655035100326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)