Gene Ammons The Boss Is Back!

The Boss Is Back!
3 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YSGG
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.Tastin' the Jug
  • 2.I Wonder
  • 3.Ger-Ru
  • Buy for $0.994.Here's That Rainy Day
  • Buy for $0.995.Madame Queen
  • Buy for $0.996.The Jungle Boss
  • Buy for $1.297.Jungle Strut
  • Buy for $0.998.Didn't We
  • Buy for $0.999.He's a Real Gone Guy
  • Buy for $0.9910.Feeling Good
  • Buy for $0.9911.Blue Velvet
  • Buy for $0.9912.Son of a Preacher Man

Product Description:

Personnel: Gene Ammons, Prince James, Houston Person (tenor saxophone); Junior Mance (piano); Sonny Phillips (organ); Billy Butler (guitar); Bob Bushnell (Fender bass); Buster Williams (bass); Bernard Purdie, Frankie Jones (drums); Candido (congas).
Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on November, 10 & 11, 1969. Includes liner notes by Dan Morgenstern and Bob Porter.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1993, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Gene Ammons (tenor saxophone); Billy Butler (guitar); Houston Person, Prince James (tenor saxophone); Junior Mance (piano); Sonny Phillips (organ); Bob Bushnell (electric bass); Frank Jones , Frankie Jones, Bernard "Pretty" Purdie (drums); Candido , Candido Camero (congas).
Liner Note Authors: Bob Porter; Chris Albertson; Dan Morgenstern.
Recording information: Nj (11/10/1969-11/11/1969).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Frankie Jones; Gene Ammons; Prince James; Junior Mance; Sonny Phillips; Billy Butler; Bob Bushnell; Buster Williams.
This CD actually includes the two albums recorded immediately upon Gene Ammons' release from prison in 1969. The first, titled THE BOSS IS BACK!, unites Ammons with fellow tenor saxophonists Prince James and Houston Person on a few cuts as well as with old musical cohort Junior Mance on piano and a sparkling rhythm section that adds congas to the bass and drums.
For the latter set, originally titled BROTHER JUG!, Ammons is presented in one of his favorite ensemble formats, the organ trio-with an added guitar on several numbers. The music harks back to his defining work in the genre (check out both PREACHIN' and THE GENE AMMONS STORY: THE ORGAN COMBOS) while subtly modernizing it with Bob Bushnell on Fender bass and the funkier push of drummer Bernard Purdie. Standouts include the romantic Jimmy Webb ballad "Didn't We" and the soulful "Son Of A Preacher Man."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Gene Ammons

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 54,930
  • UPC: 025218512923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)