Birdsongs of the Mesozoic Petrophonics

2 ratings
Price: $20.58
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YSG5
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Cuneiform

Entertainment Reviews:

Alternative Press - 3/01, p.70
4 out of 5 - "...A perfect blend of ideas, ability and teamwork."


  • Buy for $0.991.Petrophonics
  • Buy for $0.992.Ptoccata II
  • Buy for $0.993.One Hundred Cycles
  • Buy for $0.994.Nevergreen
  • Buy for $0.995.Study Of Unintended Consequences
  • Buy for $0.996.Birdhead
  • Buy for $0.997.Allswell That Endswell In Roswell
  • Buy for $0.998.Time Marches On Theme
  • Buy for $0.999.Dinosaurs Theme
  • Buy for $0.9910.Gravity Theme
  • Buy for $0.9911.Quincy Sore Throat Theme
  • Buy for $0.9912.Part One
  • Buy for $0.9913.Part Two
  • Buy for $0.9914.Part Three

Product Description:

Birdsongs Of The Mesozoic: Michael Bierylo (guitar, programming); Ken Field (flute, soprano & alto saxophones, percussion); Erik Lindgren (acoustic grand piano); Rick Scott (piano, synthesizer).
Additional personnel: David Greenberger (vocals); John Styklunas (acoustic bass); Eric Paull (drums); Ken Winokur, Terry Donahue (percussion); Pacey Foster (turntables).
Engineers include: Michael Bierylo, Erik Lindgren, Frank Cheng.
Recorded at Sounds Interesting, Middleborough, Massachussetts between June 1999 and April 2000. Includes liner notes by Chuck Vrtacek.
Personnel: David Greenberger (vocals); Michael Bierylo (guitar, programming); Ken Field (flute, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, percussion); Rick Scott (piano, synthesizer); Erik Lindgren (grand piano); John Styklunas (acoustic bass); Terry Donahue , Ken Winokur (percussion).
Audio Mixer: Bill Scheniman.
Recording information: Sounds Interesting, Middleborough, MA (06/1999-04/2000).
This was Birdsongs Of The Mesozoic's first new album in five years. Clearly good material had been stockpiling on all fronts, with all four members contributing new compositions.
Erik Lindgren performs the lion's share, with two contrasting suites clocking in at nine and 17 minutes each. Saxophonist and reed player Ken Field's "One Hundred Cycles" is built on a rhythmic base that positively propels it forward (he had also recorded a couple of solo albums during the band's time away from the studio, which clearly inform his contribution). Rick Scott's darkly inviting "Study of Unintended Consequences" sounds like the confluence of geological phenomena, wayward machines, and human drive. Guitarist Michael Bierylo, besides bringing a couple of new pieces of his own, sparkles throughout, tossing off stinging lines that burn through the landscape. With Field, he adds a certain soulful presence to the otherwise austere settings.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Birdsongs of the Mesozoic

Product Info

  • UPC: 045775013725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm