Mose Allison The Mose Chronicles: Live in London, Volume 1

The Mose Chronicles: Live in London, Volume 1
6 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  33JHS
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 29, 2001
  • Label: Blue Note Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 9/01, pp.71-2
4 stars out of 5 - "...[One of] the jazz world's natural treasures..."


  • 1.Excursion And Interlude
  • 2.No Trouble Livin'
  • 3.I Ain't Got Nothin' But The Blues
  • 4.Everybody's Cryin' Mercy
  • 5.Meet Me At No Special Place
  • 6.If You Only Knew
  • 7.Middle Class White Boy
  • 8.You Are My Sunshine
  • 9.What's Your Movie?
  • 10.How Much Truth
  • 11.Ever Since The World Ended
  • 12.You Call It Jogging
  • 13.Trouble In Mind
  • 14.I'm Not Talking
  • 15.I Feel So Good
  • 16.Since I Fell For You
  • 17.Seventh Son
  • 18.Hello There, Universe
  • 19.What Do You Do After...
  • 20.Gettin' There
  • 21.I Love The Life I Live
  • 22.Finale

Product Description:

Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, piano); Roy Babbington (bass); Mark Taylor (drums).
Recorded live at Pizza Express, London, England on January 23, 2000. Includes liner notes by Ben Sidran.
THE MOSE CHRONICLES: LIVE IN LONDON VOL. 1 was nominated for the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Jazz Vocal Album.
Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, piano); Mark Taylor (drums).
Audio Mixer: James Farber.
Liner Note Author: Ben Sidran.
Recording information: Pizza Express, London, England (01/23/2000).
Editor: Ben Sidran.
Photographers: David Sinclair ; Ben Sidran.
Sand and sun, cookies and milk, movies and popcorn--some things are simply meant for each other. Such is the case with Mose Allison's distinctively hip singing voice and his rhythmically quirky pianism. After gigging tirelessly for 50 years in jazz clubs around the world, he showed no signs of flagging. This set in London's Pizza Express (in January of 2000) marking his performing "demi-centenary," offers new takes on many of his best-known self-penned numbers and favorite covers.
As is his wont, Mose kicks things off with a funky, seat-of-his-trio's-pants impromptu instrumental called INTERLUDE to get his and the audience's juices flowing. Over the years Mr. Allison has gotten looser with his melodic sensibility and punchier with his delivery. One senses this is his way of keeping the material fresh for himself throughout his endless touring. It works in sardonic classics like "Ever Since the World Ended," "How Much Truth," and "No Trouble Livin'." His peerless blues sensibility infuses everything he touches, including his chilling version of "You Are My Sunshine." With fine backing from Brits Roy Babbington and Mark Taylor, THE MOSE CHRONICLES presents an American original in top form.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Mose Allison

Product Info

  • UPC: 724352974726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)