Mose Allison Creek Bank (Live)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.8
4 ratings
List Price: $11.98
SALE PRICE: $10.43
You Save: $1.55 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  PRS 240552

Related products:

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: March 28, 1994
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.Somebody Else Is Taking My Place
  • 2.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 3.Bye Bye Blues
  • 4.How Long Has This Been Going On?
  • 5.I Told Ya I Love Ya, Now Get Out
  • 6.Baby Let Me Hold Your Hand
  • 7.Stroll
  • 8.I Hadn't Anyone Till You
  • 9.My Kinda Love
  • 10.Sleepy Time Gal
  • 11.The Seventh Son
  • 12.If I Didn't Care
  • 13.Cabin in the Sky
  • 14.If You Live
  • 15.Yardbird Suite
  • 16.Creek Bank
  • 17.Moon and Cypress
  • 18.Mule
  • 19.Dinner on the Ground
  • 20.Prelude to a Kiss

Product Description:

Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, trumpet, piano); Addison Farmer (bass); Nick Stabulas, Ronnie Free (drums).
Recorded in Hackensack, New Jersey in January & August 1958. Includes liner notes by Len Lyons.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1993, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, trumpet, piano); Nick Stabulas, Ronnie Free (drums).
Recording information: Hackensack, NJ (01/24/1958/08/15/1958); New Jersey (01/24/1958/08/15/1958).
Photographer: Jim Marshall .
Unknown Contributor Roles: Mose Allison; Nick Stabulas.
This Prestige collection combines two 1958 sessions that feature Mose Allison on many cherished standards, and a few early originals. Here the pianist/vocalist divides his time between instrumental piano trio numbers and those that feature his bluesy Southern vocals. Listening to many of these familiar tunes, it is easy to see how Allison was influenced by everyone from Sonny Boy Williamson, to Nat "King" Cole, to Bud Powell.
His astutely swinging piano technique is on striking display on spirited numbers such as the crisply moving "Bye Bye Blues," as well as Charlie Parker's "Yardbird Suite." Fans of Allison's saucy vocal styling will get a kick out of his lazy read of Ellington's "Don't Get Around Much Anymore," and Ray Noble's "I Hadn't Anyone Till You." In all, these early sessions show why Allison gained so much attention right from the beginning of his long career.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Mose Allison

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 20,861
  • UPC: 025218545525
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Jazz genre:

Top ranking CD: