The Five Stairsteps The First Family of Soul: The Best of the Five Stairsteps (Remastered)

The First Family of Soul: The Best of the Five
37% OFF
Rating 4.6
25 ratings
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.99 (37% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  SSP 23757
Amazon sells this CD for $7.34, buying at saves you 32%

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.You Waited Too Long
  • 2.Danger! She's a Stranger
  • 3.Come Back
  • 4.Playgirl's Love
  • 5.World of Fantasy
  • 6.Oooh, Baby Baby
  • 7.Don't Waste Your Time
  • 8.You Don't Love Me
  • 9.Behind Curtains
  • 10.The Girl I Love
  • 11.Ain't Gonna Rest (Till I Get You)
  • 12.The Touch of You
  • 13.Something's Missing
  • 14.Don't Change Your Love
  • 15.Baby Make Me Feel So Good
  • 16.We Must Be in Love
  • 17.O-O-H Child

Product Description:

Includes booklet with rare photos and memorabilia.
The Five Stairsteps includes: Keni Burke, Clarence Burke, Jr., Cubie Burke, Alohe Burke, James Burke.
Producers include: Curtis Mayfield, Clarence Burke, Jr., Stan Vincent.
Compilation producer: Rob Santos.
Recorded between 1966 and 1970. Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Though fans of the Jackson 5 or the Staple Singers would love arguing the claim of the title, the Five Stairsteps recorded some solid Windy City soul during the late '60s and early '70s, just a small step below the level of the Chi-Lites or the Impressions (whose Curtis Mayfield signed the group to his Windy C label and produced much of their material). Since their only well-known hit, "O-o-h Child," was also one of their last, it's appropriately relegated to the end of this collection, though neophytes may find it a difficult chore waiting 16 tracks to get to it. Easing the way are a pair of early Mayfield gems -- "You Waited Too Long" and "Danger! She's a Stranger" -- both superb examples of yearning, baroque soul. "Playgirl's Love" would've been a perfect fit on an Impressions LP, while a cover of Smokey Robinson & the Miracles' "Ooo Baby Baby" proved a splendid choice of material. Though hit-seekers may prefer the Greatest Hits or Encore Collection sets, fans of the breezy Chicago sound or smooth supper-club soul will find much on this Buddha compilation to love. ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 25 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Five Stairsteps

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 671
  • UPC: 886972375724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

R&B: Chicago Soul Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm, Saturday: 9am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)