Cannonball Adderley Phenix

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
7 ratings
17 copies available
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  FAN 79004

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 14, 1999
  • Label: Fantasy


  • 1.High Fly
  • 2.Work Song
  • 3.Sack O' Woe
  • 4.Jive Smabe
  • 5.This Here
  • 6.The Sidewalks of New York
  • 7.Hamba Nami
  • 8.Domination
  • 9.74 Miles Away
  • 10.Country Preacher
  • 11.Stars Fell on Alabama
  • 12.Walk Tall / Mercy, Mercy, Mercy

Product Description:

Personnel: Cannonball Adderley (soprano & alto saxophones); Nat Adderley (cornet); George Duke (keyboards, synthesizer); Mike Wolff (keyboards); Walter Booker (acoustic & electric basses); Sam Jones (acoustic bass); Louis Hayes, Roy McCurdy (drums); Airto Moreira (congas, percussion).
Producers: Julian "Cannonball" Adderly, Nat Adderly, Orrin Keepnews.
Digitally remastered by Kirk Felton (1999 Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Released shortly after Julian "Cannonball" Adderley's death in August of 1975, this oddly named live, double album captures a show from the alto saxophonist's final tour. PHENIX features the final lineup of Adderley's long-running band, anchored by his cornetist brother Nat and electric keyboardist George Duke. Airto Moreira flavors the groove-oriented proceedings with his inimitable congas and hand percussion.
PHENIX, a joyful and funky walk through Adderley's songbook, stretches all the way back to his hard-bop recordings of the '50s. Almost all of his most beloved songs are here--"Jive Samba," "Work Song," "Country Preacher," and of course his hit "Mercy Mercy Mercy"--performed with Adderley's usual fire and grace. The band is absolutely on, tight and swinging, and the sound quality is excellent. One of the better live jazz albums of its era.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Cannonball Adderley

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 110,709
  • UPC: 025218790420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item