Louis Armstrong Live at the 1958 Monterey Jazz Festival

Live at the 1958 Monterey Jazz Festival
2 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YS9A
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Monterey Jazz Fest

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - p.68
3 stars out of 5 -- "Armstrong, still a formidable player in 1958, sounds wonderful..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Introduction by Dizzy Gillespie
  • Buy for $0.992.When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  • Buy for $1.293.(Back Home Again In) Indiana
  • Buy for $0.994.Blueberry Hill
  • Buy for $0.995.Tiger Rag
  • Buy for $0.996.Now You Has Jazz
  • Buy for $0.997.High Society Calypso
  • Buy for $0.998.Bucket's Got A Hole In It
  • Buy for $0.999.Perdido
  • Buy for $1.2910.Autumn Leaves
  • Buy for $0.9911.After You've Gone
  • 12.These Foolish Things
  • Buy for $0.9913.Mack The Knife
  • Buy for $0.9914.Stompin' At The Savoy
  • Buy for $0.9915.Undecided
  • Buy for $0.9916.St. Louis Blues
  • Buy for $0.9917.That's My Desire
  • Buy for $1.2918.When The Saints Go Marching In

Product Description:

Personnel: Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Trummy Young (vocals, trombone); Velma Middleton (vocals); Peanuts Hucko (clarinet); Billy Kyle (piano); Danny Barcelona (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Tim "T-Bone" Jackson; Richard Hadlock; Jason Olaine.
Recording information: Monterey Jazz Festival (10/03/1958).
In 2007, Concord and the Monterey Jazz Festival joined forces to celebrate the fiftieth edition of the long running festival by launching a special project, issuing selected performances from the vast Monterey Jazz Festival recorded archives held by the Braun Music Library of Stanford University. This CD comes from the opening night set by Louis Armstrong & His All-Stars at the very first Monterey Jazz Festival in 1958. Armstrong had developed a fairly set routine by this point in his career, playing and singing a mix of classic jazz, swing, songs from movies and pop. Joining him are trombonist Trummy Young, clarinetist Peanuts Hucko, pianist Billy Kyle, bassist Mort Hebert and drummer Danny Barcelona, with vocalist Velma Middleton added for three songs at the end of the show. Armstrong has the audience in the palm of his hand throughout the concert, whether playing, singing or doing a bit of comedy. Hucko and the vastly underrated Billy Kyle also solo with gusto, though Young's blustery playing in "Undecided" comes off a bit ham-handed. The source material survived the years surprisingly well, with few audio flaws, aside from musicians occasionally moving away from the microphones and excessively loud drums at times. This is a promising start to what will hopefully become a long running CD series that is sure to be treasured by jazz aficionados. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Louis Armstrong

Product Info

  • UPC: 888072303119
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)