Girl Talk Night Ripper

Night Ripper
29 ratings
Price: $26.99
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JF9S
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 9, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Illegal Art

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.105
Ranked #22 in Rolling Stone's "The Top 50 Albums Of 2006" -- "[A] virtuoso mash-up record....Coherent and sublime..."
Spin - p.58
Ranked #27 in Spin's "The 40 Best Albums of 2006" -- "Greg Gillis turns our band-of-the-day age on its head, splicing hundreds of Top 40 gems into samples..."
Uncut - p.87
4 stars out of 5 -- "[L]ike Kid606 rewiring Jive Bunny, via Fleetwood Mac, MIA, Pixies, Nirvana and Wings: the perfect party mixtape."
Q (Magazine) - p.107
3 stars out of 5 -- "Pennsylvania laptop whizzkid Gregg Gillis takes DJ mash-ups to a new level."
Q (Magazine) - p.104
3 stars out of 5 -- "His debut album is a blizzard of samples that collides rock, techno and hip hop to brilliant effect..."
Clash (magazine) (p.112) - "[S]eamlessly grabbing beats, lyrics and hooks for a variety of sources and doing something very new and exciting with them."


  • 1.Once Again
  • 2.That's My D.J.
  • 3.Hold Up
  • 4.Too Deep
  • 5.Smash Your Head
  • 6.Minute by Minute
  • 7.Ask About Me
  • 8.Summer Smoke
  • 9.Friday Night
  • 10.Hand Clap
  • 11.Give and Go
  • 12.Bounce That
  • 13.Warm It Up
  • 14.Double Pump
  • 15.Overtime
  • 16.Peak Out

Product Description:

The high-minded conceptual tropes of the original plunderphonic artists, John Oswald and Negativland, were not exactly anyone's idea of party music--pointed and often humorous cultural critique, but generally not something one could dance to. The post-Napster Internet-era of accelerated consumption has ushered in a new generation of pop-culture recyclers. These young laptop jockeys are as hell-bent on filling dance floors as they are on smashing commonplace genre banalities. Gregg Gillis (Girl Talk) is the sampledelic wunderkind behind NIGHT RIPPER, a rollicking 40-minute ride through hundreds of musical fragments, from (seemingly) as many different music styles.
NIGHT RIPPER could easily have come across as a novelty record, but Gillis is no ordinary bedroom DJ-cum-producer. Abolishing the classic mash-up formula of vocal a capella over instrumental tracks, Gillis freely mixes snippets from a dizzying array of '80s pop, classic rock, grunge, Dirty South rap, and even Bollywood banghra beats. On the track "Bounce That," Gillis lays down a Ludacris rap over Elastica's "Connection" (itself an appropriation of Wire's "Three Girl Rhumba") in one of the album's stranger moments. Seamlessly mixed--as if by a highly skilled, attention-deficit-addled DJ--NIGHT RIPPER is a joyous, schizophrenic, and highly entertaining mess.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 29 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Girl Talk

Product Info

  • UPC: 613285933729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)