Muddy Waters Folk Singer

Folk Singer
31 ratings
Price: $9.89
List Price: $10.99
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YV2A
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Chess

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 3/10/94, p.67
"...There aren't too many blues albums that qualify as audiophile recordings, but Muddy Waters FOLK SINGER surely does. A wonderfully intimate session, it delivers Waters' voice in all its power and subtlety, while rendering his guitar work...with such vivid realism, you would think you were sitting in the studio...."


  • Buy for $0.991.My Home Is In The Delta
  • Buy for $0.992.Long Distance
  • Buy for $0.993.My Captain
  • Buy for $0.994.Good Morning School Girl
  • Buy for $0.995.You Gonna Need My Help
  • Buy for $0.996.Cold Weather Blues
  • Buy for $0.997.Big Leg Woman
  • Buy for $0.998.Country Boy
  • Buy for $0.999.Feel Like Going Home
  • Buy for $0.9910.Same Thing, The - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9911.You Can't Lose What You Never Had - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9912.My John The Conqueror Root - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Short Dress Woman - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Put Me In Your Lay Away - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Muddy Waters (vocals, guitar); Buddy Guy, James "Pee Wee" Madison, Sam Lawhorn (guitar); James Cotton (harmonica); J.T. Brown (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Otis Spann (piano); Willie Dixon, Milton Rector (bass); Clifton James, S.P. Leary (drums).
Recorded at Tel Mar Recording Studios, Chicago, Illinois in September 1963. Originally released on Chess (1483). Includes liner notes by Ralph Bass and Mary Katherine Aldin.
Personnel: Muddy Waters (vocals, guitar); James "Pee Wee" Madison, Sammy Lawhorn, Buddy Guy (guitar); James Cotton (harmonica); J.T. Brown (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Otis Spann (piano); Clifton James, Francis Clay, S.P. Leary (drums).
Audio Remixer: Erick Labson.
Liner Note Authors: Bob Schnieders; Mary Katherine Aldin; Ralph Bass.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (09/1963-10/1964); Tel Mar Recording Studios, Chicago, IL (09/1963-10/1964).
Photographers: Jim Marshall ; Don Bronstein.
The title and cover photo of this 1963 recording were an attempt to cash in on the burgeoning American folk revival, but this is pure acoustic blues. Muddy began his career as a Robert Johnson-style solo acoustic performer, and the tunes on FOLK SINGER hark back to those days. He's accompanied sparsely by Willie Dixon, drummer Clifton James and a young Buddy Guy, who provide a stark, deliberate backdrop for Muddy's rich vocal and expressive bottleneck guitar work. The richness of Muddy's baritone is showcased effectively here, with more room than usual for his voice to resonate.
The low-key setting allows Muddy to explore a fuller dynamic range as well. From the romantic yearning of "Long Distance Call" to the fatalism of the chain gang song "My Captain," Muddy's voice expresses entire worlds of emotion with only subtle dynamic changes. On FOLK SINGER's more downhearted cuts, there's a doomy, ominous quality that rivals the deepest emotional journeys of John Lee Hooker. By scaling down, Muddy managed to make his songs, guitar and voice seem exponentially magnified. Though it's one of his quietest albums, FOLK SINGER screams with naked emotion.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 31 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Muddy Waters

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 55,366
  • UPC: 008811202729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)