Etta James The Essential Etta James (2-CD)

The Essential Etta James (2-CD)
23 ratings
Price: $28.78
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $3.20 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YSYJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Chess

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.All I Could Do Is Cry
  • Buy for $1.292.My Dearest Darling
  • Buy for $1.293.If I Can't Have You
  • Buy for $1.294.A Sunday Kind of Love
  • Buy for $1.295.Anything to Say You're Mine
  • Buy for $1.296.At Last
  • Buy for $0.997.Seven Day Fool
  • Buy for $1.298.Trust in Me
  • Buy for $1.299.Don't Cry Baby
  • Buy for $1.2910.Fool That I Am
  • Buy for $1.2911.One For My Baby (And One More For the Road)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Waiting For Charlie (To Come Home)
  • Buy for $1.2913.Something's Got a Hold on Me
  • Buy for $0.9914.Next Door to the Blues
  • Buy for $0.9915.These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)
  • Buy for $1.2916.Stop the Wedding
  • Buy for $0.9917.Prisoner of Love
  • Buy for $1.2918.Pushover
  • Buy for $0.9919.Would It Make Any Difference to You
  • Buy for $0.9920.Pay Back
  • Buy for $1.2921.Two Sides to Every Story
  • Buy for $0.9922.Baby What You Want Me to Do - (live)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.In the Basement (Part 1)
  • Buy for $0.992.Loving You More Every Day
  • Buy for $0.993.Do I Make Myself Clear
  • Buy for $0.994.I Prefer You
  • Buy for $0.995.It Must Be Your Love
  • Buy for $0.996.842-3089 (Call My Name)
  • Buy for $1.297.I'd Rather Go Blind
  • Buy for $1.298.Tell Mama
  • Buy for $1.299.Do Right Woman, Do Right Man - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2910.Security
  • Buy for $0.9911.Almost Persuaded
  • Buy for $0.9912.You Got It
  • Buy for $0.9913.Miss Pitiful
  • Buy for $0.9914.Losers Weepers (Part 1)
  • Buy for $0.9915.W.O.M.A.N.
  • Buy for $0.9916.I Never Meant to Love Him - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2917.You Can Leave Your Hat On
  • Buy for $0.9918.God's Song (That's Why I Love Mankind)
  • Buy for $0.9919.All the Way Down
  • Buy for $1.2920.Lovin' Arms
  • Buy for $0.9921.Feeling Uneasy
  • Buy for $0.9922.Let's Burn Down the Cornfield

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Etta James, Harvey Fuqua, Sugar Pie DeSanto (vocals); Matt Murphy, David Walker, Sidney Pinchback, Cash McCall, Danny Kortchmar, "Wah Wah" Watson, Lowell George (guitar); Clifford Clark (alto saxophone);, Gavrell Cooper, Ben Branch, Gene Barge (tenor saxophone); Delbert Hill (baritone saxophone); Floyd Newman, Charles Chalmers (saxophone); Burgess Gardner, Oscar Brashear, Raymond Orr, Murray Watson (trumpet); Morris Ellis, Willie Henderson (trombone); Milton Bland (piano); Carl Banks, Barry Beckeett, Vonzell Cooper (organ); Charles Stepney (vibraphone); Reggie Boyd, Marion Wright, David Henderson (bass); Al Duncan, Lawrence Hamilton (drums); Phillip Thomas (percussion); The Moonglows (background vocals).
Producers include: Billy Davis, Gabriel Mekler, Esmond Edwards, Monk Higgins, Rick Hall.
Reissue producer: Andy McKaie.
Principally recorded in Chicago between 1960-1975. Includes liner notes by David Ritz.
Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (MCA Music Media Studios), except "Would It Make Any Difference," "Pay Back" and "Two Sides To Every Story" which were remixed to stereo from original 4-tracks.
THE ESSENTIAL ETTA JAMES contains 2 CDs worth of recordings Etta James made for Chess Records between 1960-1975. Also included is a 16-page booklet with photos, interviews and track-by-track annotations.
This is the definitive collection of Etta James's career-defining work at Chess Records. Spanning two discs and 44 tracks, THE ESSENTIAL takes the listener chronologically from 1960's heart-wrenching story-song "All I Could Do Is Cry" to 1975's "Lovin' Arms." Newcomers will be impressed by what long-time fans have always known: James is a masterful vocalist capable of moving from airy, nuanced balladry to gutbucket, growling blues within the space of single measure.
This range is amply represented on THE ESSENTIAL with string-sweetened ballads ("Trust in Me"), rave-up rockers ("Something's Got a Hold on Me"), and soul workouts ("842-3089 [Call My Name]"). While the lion's share of material comes from the early '60s, 1967's "Tell Mama," recorded at the famed Muscle Shoals studio and possibly James's best-known song, comes blazing out on the second disc. The singer's skill at interpreting popular material can be heard too on Don Covay's "You Got It," Otis Redding's "Security," and three tunes by Randy Newman, including a deeply funky "You Can Leave Your Hat On." Whether accompanied by lush orchestrations or a full-tilt R&B band, James's gritty, soulful voice never faltered, and this set brings a beautiful sampling of her achievements under one cover.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 23 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Etta James

Product Info

  • UPC: 076732934128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.38/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)