Dion I Put Away My Idols / Kingdom In The Streets

I Put Away My Idols / Kingdom In The Streets
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 1636
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Dion is one of the most celebrated performers of the rock era and has been inducted into both the Rock & Roll and Grammy Halls of Fame. In the late 70's, Dion turned his phenomenal talent toward creating popular contemporary Christian music. This CD features two of his best inspirational albums from the Word label, "I Put Away My Idols" from 1984 and 1985's "Kingdom In The Street."


  • 1.Here Is My Servant
  • 2.Trust In The Lord
  • 3.Day Of The Lord
  • 4.I Put Away My Idols
  • 5.Daddy
  • 6.Very Soon
  • 7.They Won't Tell You
  • 8.Healing
  • 9.Give It Up And Surrende
  • 10.My Prayer For You
  • 11.Still In The Spirit
  • 12.Crazy Too Fallen In Love
  • 13.He Hears Them All
  • 14.He's In You
  • 15.Only God Can Change A Heart
  • 16.Daddy Says
  • 17.Come To The Cross
  • 18.You Can Do All Things
  • 19.I've Come Too Far
  • 20.You Only Go 'Round Once

Product Description:

Personnel: George Terry (guitar, acoustic guitar); Dion DiMucci (acoustic guitar); John Sambataro (electric guitar, background vocals); Ricky Hitchcock, Leslie West (electric guitar); Paul Harris (harp, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, organ, keyboards, synthesizer); Ed Calle (saxophone); Neal Bousanti (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Larry Dermer, Tim Devine (synthesizer); Joe Galdo (drums, percussion); Walter Santos (congas); Chuck Kirkpatrick, Kitty Woodson, Doug Shawe, Pamela Sessody, Paul Pettitt (background vocals).
Recording information: Criteria Studios, Miami, FL.
Photographer: Aaron Rapoport.
Arranger: Dion.
Ace continues its ambitious program of Dion reissues with this pair of mid-'80s recordings for Christian labels. First off, Ace deserves plaudits for even making these recordings available. Dion's catalog has been largely unavailable in the United States for a decade at least. The box set has tracks from all of his periods, but just whets the appetite. I Put Away My Idols was originally released on the Day Spring label in 1983. Full of power chord guitars, synthesizers, and drum machines, it is very much a product of its time, production-wise. But the songs are what endure. Many fans were/are uncomfortable with Dion's faith and its prominence in his work from the period, but it made him no less a street-corner poet who found a way in from the cold. Anchored in contemporary pop and rock, Dion's singing here was as deeply moving and soulful as it remains today: direct, inviting, full of simple personal revelation and Bronx soul. The title cut and Bob Smith's "Daddy," the two hinge-pieces on the set, are a testament to the timelessness of the singer whose gospel evangelizing (no matter how na‹ve it seems) is genuinely one of sharing -- what to him is good news, not fire-and-brimstone judgment. Kingdom in the Street is the stronger of the two albums, and was issued on Myrrh in 1985. The keyboards are still in the mix but they sound a bit more organic, and most of the drums are live. Most importantly, Dion brings the full power of his trademark meld of early rock and soul to bear on each track here. From the opener, "Still in the Spirit," with its backing vocalists supporting him, his effortless tenor croons, coos, and soars through an easy, airy gospel groove. "Crazy Too (Have Fallen in Love)" is doo wop gospel at its finest, complete with shama lama, shoo be doos, and oohs and ahhs as well as a gritty meat-and-potatoes saxophone. Of Dion's originals, "Only God Can Change a Heart" is a searing urban poem with driving synthesizers and electric guitars over a drum machine and a live kit. "Come to the Cross" could have been issued during Dion's late-'60s folk period; it's earthy compared to the rest of the album, with piano and harpsichord underlining the vocal. "Come to the Cross" is a fine tome with a lyric full of confession and surrender, framed by gorgeous orchestration and arrangement -- particularly in the interplay between the piano and harpsichord -- and shot through with a distorted electric guitar solo. This two-fer won't be everyone's cup of tea (not even Dion fans perhaps), but a close listen with an open mind will yield musical rewards to be sure. No one can sing like this. No one. [Collectables reissued I Put Away My Idols/Kingdom in the Streets in the U.S. in 2010]. ~ Thom Jurek
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Dion

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431163627
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)