Michael Bolton The One Thing

The One Thing
29 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 23871
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Stereo Review (3/94, p.96) - Performance: Strong But Sensitive / Recording: Sensitive But Strong - "...He's a musical true believer, without doubts even when he sings about doubt...."


  • 1.Said I Loved You...But I Lied
  • 2.I'm Not Made of Steel
  • 3.The One Thing
  • 4.Soul of My Soul
  • 5.Completely
  • 6.Lean on Me
  • 7.Ain't Got Nothing If You Ain't Got Love
  • 8.A Time For Letting Go
  • 9.Never Get Enough of Your Love
  • 10.In the Arms of Love

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Michael Bolton (vocals); Mutt Lange (guitar, background vocals); Dann Huff, Michael Landau, Michael Thompson (guitar); Philip Nicholas (keyboards, programming); David Foster (keyboards); Walter Afanasieff (Hammond B-3 organ, keyboards, synthesizer, programming); John Robinson (drums); Gary Cirimelli (programming, background vocals); Claude Gaudette (programming); Ren Klyce (programming).
Tower Of Power Horns: Emilio Castillo, David Mann (tenor saxophone); Stephen "Doc" Kupka (baritone saxophone); Lee Thornburg (trumpet, trombone); Greg Adams (trumpet).
Producers: Robert John "Mutt" Lange, Walter Afanasieff, David Foster, Michael Bolton.
Engineers include: Dana Jon Chappelle, Humberto Gatica, Al Schmitt.
Recorded at Out Of Pocket Productions Ltd. Studios, Surrey, England; Passion Studios, Connecticut; The Record Plant and Oceanway Studios, Los Angeles, California.
"Said I Loved You...But I Lied" was nominated for Best Pop Vocal Performance, Male in the 37th Annual Grammy Awards.
The one thing Michael Bolton can use is getting critics off his back. If you want to be "in" in some circles, you must rip into Michael Bolton. Critics like to make stars and then knock 'em down. However, Michael Bolton has two powerful weapons on his side: talent and millions of fans. And it is his fans who truly matter in the long run.
On THE ONE THING, Michael showcases his powerful voice and songwriting expertise to full effect. "I Said I Loved You...But I Lied" is one of the best songs of his career. Understated and emotional, his poignant vocal expresses the one thing that the word "love" isn't strong enough to state: his feelings. Fortunately Bolton has that compelling voice of his, and when he cracks to a slight falsetto, you can hear hearts melting across the planet.
A powerhouse of a vocalist, the lion-maned superstar scorches through power ballads ("Completely"), Police-style rockers ("I'm Not Made Of Steel"), and soul-stirrers ("Ain't Got Nothing If You Ain't Got Love"). And since every Michael Bolton album has a remake of a popular oldie, THE ONE THING also includes an impassioned reading of Bill Withers' "Lean On Me."
Thus, THE ONE THING actually includes a few things: soulful singing, first-rate pop songs, and the strong personality of an artist whose fans love every note he sings.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 29 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Michael Bolton

Product Info

  • UPC: 886972387123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)