Bobby Darin The Definitive Pop Collection (2-CD)

The Definitive Pop Collection (2-CD)
4 ratings
Price: $25.07
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  J2QA
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 7, 2006
  • Label: Rhino

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Splish Splash
  • 2.Early in the Morning
  • 3.Queen of the Hop
  • 4.Plain Jane
  • 5.Dream Lover
  • 6.Mack the Knife
  • 7.That's All
  • 8.Beyond the Sea
  • 9.Clementine
  • 10.Won't You Come Home Bill Bailey
  • 11.I Found a New Baby
  • 12.Artificial Flowers
  • 13.Lazy River
  • 14.Nature Boy
  • 15.Irresistible You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.You Must Have Been a Beautiful Baby
  • 2.Multiplication
  • 3.What'd I Say
  • 4.Things
  • 5.I'm Sitting on Top of the World
  • 6.Baby Face
  • 7.You're the Reason I'm Living
  • 8.18 Yellow Roses
  • 9.As Long as I'm Singing
  • 10.If I Were a Carpenter
  • 11.Reason to Believe
  • 12.Lovin' You
  • 13.The Lady Came from Baltimore
  • 14.Simple Song of Freedom - (live)
  • 15.Curtain Falls, The - (live)

Product Description:

Audio Remasterers: Dave Schultz; Dan Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: James Ritz.
Recording information: The Desert Inn (04/10/1958-02/06/1971); The Flamingo, Las Vegas, NV (04/10/1958-02/06/1971).
Arrangers: Donald Peake; Fred Norman; Jack Nitzsche; Richard Wess; Richard Behrke Trio; Jimmie Haskell; Billy May; Bob Halley; Quitman Dennis; Bobby Darin; Bobby Scott.
Thirty tracks of Bobby Darin performances, ranging from "Splish Splash" to "If I Were a Carpenter" and beyond, don't come around every day. Granted, Rhino's Definitive Pop Collection could have included at least ten more songs spread across these two discs, but the track selection is peerless and the sound is as good as it gets. Beginning with the four Top 40 hits Darin recorded in the late '50s as a teen idol, the set moves directly into his vocal pop prime with the Top Ten placings "Dream Lover" "Mack the Knife," and "Beyond the Sea," before wrapping up the first disc midway through 1961 (when he recorded no less than seven hits). The second disc finds Darin coming to terms with the folk boom of the '60s, most memorably with his Tim Hardin covers ("If I Were a Carpenter," "Reason to Believe," "The Lady Came from Baltimore"), but also with great covers of Ray Charles' "What'd I Say" and the Lovin' Spoonful's "Lovin' You." ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Bobby Darin

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,550
  • UPC: 081227080921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)