Beirut March of the Zapotec / Realpeople Holland (2-CD)

March of the Zapotec / Realpeople Holland (2-CD)
14 ratings
Only 9 copies left
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YVAG
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Pompeii Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.111
3 stars out of 5 -- "[The] synthetic pop suite boasts impressively sequenced keyboards and drum machines..."
Paste (magazine) (p.64) - "If the stately grandeur of ZAPOTEC is more imposing, HOLLAND is more roundly satisfying. It's fun to hear the buttoned-down Condon loosen his collar for this featherweight synth-pop project."
Clash (magazine) (p.100) - "The first six songs feature the nineteen-piece Jimenez band from Oaxaca....Accomplished, very listenable works....Another signpost for the diverse talents of Zach Condon."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Z¢calo, El
  • Buy for $0.992.Llorona, La
  • Buy for $0.993.My Wife
  • Buy for $0.994.The Akara
  • Buy for $0.995.On a Bayonet
  • Buy for $0.996.The Shrew

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.My Night with the Prositute from Marseille
  • 2.My Wife, Lost in the Wild
  • 3.Venice
  • 4.The Concubine
  • 5.No Dice

Product Description:

Personnel: Zach Condon (vocals, ukulele, trumpet, French horn, euphonium, percussion); Jason Poranski (mandolin); Perrin Cloutier (accordion); Kelly Pratt (clarinet, trumpet, French horn, trombone, euphonium, background vocals); Pablo J. Mateas, Jorge Gutierrez, Maximo S. Jimenez (clarinet); Felix H. Jimcenez (saxophone); Emiliano G. Mendoza (soprano saxophone); Chris Taylor (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Mario H. Jimenez, Lois G. Lorenzo (tenor saxophone); Lorenzo M. Jimenez, Benjamin B. Mendoza, Jos‚e Manuel Mart¡nez (trumpet); Jorge S. Jimenez, Isaac H. Jimenez (trombone); Faustino M. Jimenez (tuba); Paul Collins (bass guitar); Fidel M. Montano (drums); Oscar V. Bautista (cymbals).
Recording information: Brooklyn, NY; El Zocolo Plaza, Oaxaca City, Mexico; Teotitlan, Oaxaca, Mexico.
Arrangers: Zach Condon; Perrin Cloutier; Griffin Rodriguez.
On each successive release, Beirut's Zach Condon keeps expanding his sonic palette and his taste for stylistic variety while sharpening his songcraft. MARCH OF THE ZAPOTEC/HOLLAND, released in 2009, brings together two EPs representing Condon's restlessly inventive musical fusions.
The songs on MARCH OF THE ZAPOTEC's reflect Condon's travels to Oaxaca, where he worked with a 19-piece Mexican band for a sound that merges Latin folk, Balkan brass band, and his own Western pop instincts. The songs on HOLLAND, which Condon recorded at his home studio, have a more electronic sound that may remind listeners of '80s synth pop or contemporary acts like the Postal Service. Yet Condon's experiments never sound random or pieced together, but are made remarkably cohesive by his sharp, poetic sensibility.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 14 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Beirut

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 127,105
  • UPC: 600197220122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)