Monty Alexander Concord Jazz Heritage Series

Concord Jazz Heritage Series
13% OFF
Rating 5.0
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  COJ 4834
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: September 14, 1998
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Concord Records


  • 1.I'm Walkin'
  • 2.For All We Know - (live)
  • 3.Work Song
  • 4.The River
  • 5.To the Ends of the Earth
  • 6.Honest I Do
  • 7.Secret Love - (live)
  • 8.The Serpent
  • 9.I've Got You Under My Skin
  • 10.Sly Mongoose

Product Description:

Recorded between 1979 and 1998.
This is part of Concord Jazz's Concord Jazz Heritage Series.
Personnel: Monty Alexander (piano); Herb Ellis (guitar); Antonio Hart (alto saxophone); Ed Thigpen, Frank Gant, Idris Muhammad, Jeff Hamilton , Marvin "Smitty" Smith, Dion Parson (drums); Robert Thomas, Jr. (percussion).
Audio Mixers: Alan Varner; Phil Edwards .
Liner Note Author: Scott Yanow.
Recording information: Coast Recorders, San Francisco, CA (08/??/1979-12/21/1996); Omega Studios, Ro (08/??/1979-12/21/1996); Satin Doll Club, Tokyo, Japan (08/??/1979-12/21/1996); Soundmixers, New York, NY (08/??/1979-12/21/1996).
Photographer: Janet Sommer.
To celebrate their 25th anniversary in 1998, Concord came out with 40 sampler CDs. Pianist Monty Alexander was with the label on and off for over two decades; on this CD, he is heard with five different trios, unaccompanied on "The Serpent," and with the steel drum of Othello in several contexts. Alexander's style was quite mature by the time he debuted on Concord, and he didn't change it much during the 17 years covered by this release, so there is a strong unity to the set. With such sidemen as bassists Ray Brown and John Clayton, guitarist Herb Ellis, drummers Jeff Hamilton and Ed Thigpen and altoist Antoino Hart, Alexander is mostly in the spotlight on the ten selections. Highlights include "I'm Walkin'," "The River," "Secret Love" and the catchy calypso "Sly Mongoose." ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Monty Alexander

Product Info:

  • UPC: 013431483427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item