Julie London Julie At Home / Around Midnight

Julie At Home / Around Midnight
12 ratings
Only 9 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.90 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.09 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  VA2K
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: EMI Gold Imports


  • 1.You'd Be So Nice To Come
  • 2.Lonesome Road
  • 3.They Didn't Believe Me
  • 4.By Myself
  • 5.Thrill Is Gone
  • 6.You've Changed
  • 7.Goodbye
  • 8.Sentimental Journey
  • 9.Give Me The Simple Life
  • 10.You Stepped Out Of A Drea
  • 11.Let There Be Love
  • 12.Everything Happens To Me
  • 13.Around Midnight
  • 14.Lonely In Paris
  • 15.Misty
  • 16.Black Coffee
  • 17.Lush Life
  • 18.In The Wee Small Hours Of
  • 19.Don't Smoke In Bed
  • 20.You And Teh Night And The
  • 21.Something Cool
  • 22.How About Me
  • 23.But Not For Me
  • 24.Party's Over

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD.
This remastering combines two albums from 1950s jazz and pop stylist Julie London, JULIE AT HOME and AROUND MIDNIGHT, for 24 songs highlighted by "Lonesome Road," "Let There Be Love," and "Party's Over"
Personnel: Julie London (vocals); Al Viola (guitar); Emil Richards (vibraphone); Earl Palmer (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Bob Norberg.
Liner Note Author: Jimmy Rowles.
Recording information: 1960.
Arranger: Dick Reynolds.
Julie London released nearly 25 albums for the successful label Liberty Records from 1955 to 1965, the best of which are represented on the CD two-fer Julie...At Home/Around Midnight. The success of her 1955 hit "Cry Me a River" put Liberty into overdrive and London responded by making some of the strongest records of her career. Her ability to interpret a song was at its strongest in the late '50s and early '60s, as is evidenced on 1959's intimate Julie...At Home and the sophisticated 1960 album Around Midnight. The two albums have a decidedly different feel (one late evening, the other being after hours). The first half (actually recorded in London's living room) is a warm and relaxed evening of romance and longing, beginning with her other signature song, "You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To." The latter half is decidedly cooler, both in mood and instrumentation, evoking a much darker and more nocturnal feel. The drowsy "Black Coffee" and lazy "Lush Life" typify the late-night feel of the album, leading right into "The Wee Small Hours of the Morning." This underrated collection of standards was re-released through EMI in 1996, and could stand alongside any of Johnny Hartman's romantic ballads and Chet Baker's cool recordings of the same era. ~ Zac Johnson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Julie London

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 54,087
  • UPC: 724385454226
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)