James Darren This One's from the Heart

This One's from the Heart
103 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YVDD
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Concord Records


  • Buy for $1.291.The Best Is Yet to Come
  • Buy for $1.292.Come Fly With Me
  • Buy for $0.993.That Old Black Magic
  • Buy for $1.294.All the Way
  • Buy for $1.295.It's Only a Paper Moon
  • Buy for $1.296.I've Got the World on a String
  • Buy for $0.997.You'd Better Love Me
  • Buy for $0.998.Sophisticated Lady
  • Buy for $1.299.Just in Time
  • Buy for $0.9910.I've Got You Under My Skin
  • Buy for $1.2911.The Way You Look Tonight
  • Buy for $1.2912.Here's to the Losers
  • Buy for $1.2913.You're Nobody 'Til Somebody Loves You
  • Buy for $0.9914.Dancing in the Dark
  • Buy for $0.9915.Night and Day
  • Buy for $1.2916.I'll Be Seeing You
  • Buy for $1.2917.Satin Doll

Product Description:

Personnel includes: James Darren (vocals); Ron Eschete, John Pisano (guitar); Gary Foster, Dan Higgins (alto saxophone); Gene Cipriano (tenor saxophone); Lee Callett (baritone saxophone); Warren Luening (trumpet, flugelhorn); Charlie Loper (trombone); Tom Rainer (piano); Chuck Berghoffer (bass); Gregg Field (drums); Bob Zimitti (percussion).
Recorded at Capitol Studios, Los Angeles, California in June 1999.
Personnel: John Pisano, Ron Eschete (guitar); Al Hershberger, Carolyn Osborn, Jennifer Walton, Tiffany Yi Hu, Leslie Woodbury, Virginia Frazier, Jayme Miller, Gwen Heller, Eve Butler, Kirstin Fife, David Stenske (violin); Kazi Pitelka, Raymond Tischer, Mimi Granat (viola); Timothy Landauer, Paul Cohen , Ray Kelley, Cecilia Tsan (cello); Dan Higgins, Gary Foster (alto saxophone); Gene Cipriano, Pete Christlieb, Terry Harrington (tenor saxophone); Lee Callett, Lee Callet (baritone saxophone); Warren Leuning, Warren Luening (trumpet, flugelhorn); Larry Hall , Rick Baptist, Wayne Bergeron (trumpet); Alexander Iles, Charles Loper, Bruce Otto (trombone); George Roberts (bass trombone); Tom Ranier (piano); Gregg Field (drums); Bob Zimitti (percussion).
Audio Mixer: Al Schmitt.
Liner Note Author: James Darren.
Recording information: Capitol studios, Los Angeles, CA (06/1999).
Director: Alexis Davis.
Photographer: Carl Studna.
Arrangers: Joe Parnello; Bill Rogers; George Wilkins; Lou Forestieri; Jimmy Bryant; Alan Broadbent; Marty Paich; Patrick Williams; Sammy Nestico; Tom Ranier.
During a career that's stretched for more than 40 years, James Darren has touched many of the bases in the entertainment game. He started in the 1950s when he was a teenage idol of the big screen, and then moved on to appearances on any number of TV shows over the ensuing years. One of the more notable of these appearances was his portrayal of a swinging 1960s Rat Pack crooner on Star Trek: Deep Space Nine. This wasn't one of those too-often-seen instances of miscasting: The man can sing, and this, his latest album, is telling evidence of his gift. Coincidentally, ironically, or whatever, Darren comes across a bit like another singer who began his career in the 1950s: the similarly surnamed Bobby Darin. And like his near namesake, Darren suffers from unfair and unnecessary comparisons to Frank Sinatra. It probably doesn't help matters that several songs on the album are strongly associated with Sinatra, including "All the Way," "Come Fly With Me," "Night and Day," and "I've Got You Under My Skin." If any singer with a style like Darren's were forced to limit his selections to songs not already done by Sinatra, the vocal pickings would be slim indeed. Darren has something to say with each of these tunes, and he says it well. That he is blessed with outstanding arrangements by some of the best in the business, like Alan Broadbent, Sammy Nestico, Tom Ranier, and the late Marty Paich, contributes mightily to making this session an enjoyable listening experience. The instrumental accompaniment includes appearances by some of the finest jazz musicians extant. On a midtempo "I've Got the World on a String," Darren is backed by a strong tenor saxophone solo by Pete Christlieb. "Sophisticated Lady" features Ranier's piano and the graceful, floating figures of Warren Luening on a Sweets Edison-like muted trumpet. Luening makes a similar contribution on "I'll Be Seeing You." Darren's rendering of one of Duke Ellington's most popular tunes stands up well with most interpretations. Darren is accompanied by a big band, with strings attached, on eight of the cuts. This group provides the background for very lush renditions of such standards as Jerome Kern and Dorothy Fields' hauntingly beautiful "The Way You Look Tonight" (on which Luening's fl�gelhorn is prominent). For the remaining nine tunes, Darren is backed by a small group of fine musicians, including Luening, Ranier, Christlieb, Chuck Berghoffer, Gregg Field, and Ron Eschet‚. Darren offers a legitimate option to the hip male singers of the day. His is a crooning, swinging style that reached its zenith with Bing Crosby, Sinatra, and Darin, and was carried on by the inestimable Tony Bennett and Darren himself. This One's From the Heart is an amiable 52 minutes of great music, excellently arranged and performed by a good singer backed by fine musicians. ~ Dave Nathan

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 103 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for James Darren

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 52,149
  • UPC: 013431486824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)