Peggy Lee The Singles Collection (4-CD Box Set)

The Singles Collection (4-CD Box Set)
9 ratings
Price: $50.38
List Price: $55.98
You Save: $5.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  DFQ2
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: October 28, 2002
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 1/03, p.89
"...Superb fare..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Let's Do It
  • 2.Somebody Nobody Loves
  • 3.Why Don't You Do Right - (1942 version)
  • 4.On the Atchinson, Topeka and the Santa Fe
  • 5.It's Anybody's Spring
  • 6.What More Can a Woman Do?
  • 7.You Was Right, Baby!
  • 8.Waiting For the Train to Come In
  • 9.I Don't Know Enough About You
  • 10.I Can See It Your Way
  • 11.Baby, You Can Count on Me
  • 12.It's a Good Day
  • 13.A Nightingale Can Sing the Blues
  • 14.He's Just My Kind
  • 15.She Didn't Say Yes
  • 16.Birmingham Jail
  • 17.Don't Be So Mean to Baby
  • 18.It's the Bluest Kind of Blues
  • 19.Everything's Movin' Too Fast
  • 20.Speaking of Angels
  • 21.Chi-Baba, Chi-Baba (My Bambino Go to Sleep)
  • 22.Just an Old Love of Mine
  • 23.Sugar (That Sugar Baby O' Mine) - (1950 version)
  • 24.Golden Earrings
  • 25.Why Don't You Do Right - (1948 version)
  • 26.Hold Me
  • 27.Them There Eyes

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Everybody Loves Somebody
  • 2.Caramba! It's the Samba
  • 3.Manana
  • 4.So Dear to My Heart
  • 5.While We're Young
  • 6.Don't Smoke in Bed
  • 7.Just a Shade on the Blue Side
  • 8.You Was
  • 9.Someone Like You
  • 10.Please, Love Me Tonight
  • 11.If You Could See Me Now
  • 12.Similau
  • 13.You Can Have Him
  • 14.At the Cafe Rendez-Vous
  • 15.Goodbye John
  • 16.Through a Long and Sleepless Night
  • 17.Save Your Sorrow For Tomorrow
  • 18.The Old Master Painter
  • 19.Bless You (For the Good That's in You)
  • 20.When You Speak With Your Eyes
  • 21.My Small Senor
  • 22.Cry, Cry, Cry
  • 23.Once Around the Moon
  • 24.Helpless
  • 25.They Can't Take That Away From Me
  • 26.Happy Music
  • 27.Life Is So Peculiar

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Where Are You?
  • 2.Once in a Lifetime
  • 3.The Mill on the Floss
  • 4.Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!
  • 5.Rock Me to Sleep
  • 6.He's Only Wonderful
  • 7.Wandering Swallow
  • 8.I Love You But I Don't Like You
  • 9.Tonight You Belong to Me
  • 10.Don't Fan the Flame
  • 11.Would You Dance With a Stranger?
  • 12.Everytime
  • 13.Whee, Baby
  • 14.Louisville Lou
  • 15.Let's Call It a Day
  • 16.Lover
  • 17.Sugar (That Sugar Baby O' Mine) - (1955 version)
  • 18.You've Got See Mama Every Night
  • 19.Mister Wonderful
  • 20.The Folks Who Live on the Hill
  • 21.Listen to the Rockin' Bird
  • 22.Uninvited Dream
  • 23.Fever
  • 24.Alright, Okay, You Win
  • 25.Hallelujah, I Love Him So
  • 26.I'm Looking Out the Window
  • 27.You Deserve

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Heart
  • 2.I'm Gonna Go Fishin'
  • 3.My Gentle Young Johnny
  • 4.Moments Like This
  • 5.I Love Being Here With You
  • 6.I'm a Woman
  • 7.Sneakin' up on You
  • 8.Pass Me By
  • 9.Stop Living in the Past
  • 10.Big Spender
  • 11.Come Back to Me
  • 12.Walking Happy
  • 13.Didn't Want to Have to Do It
  • 14.Misty Roses
  • 15.It'll Never Happen Again
  • 16.Spinning Wheel
  • 17.Is That All There Is?
  • 18.Something
  • 19.You'll Remember Me
  • 20.Pieces of Dreams
  • 21.Where Did They Go?
  • 22.Love Song
  • 23.Some Cats Know
  • 24.Senza Fine
  • 25.Caramba! It's the Samba - (false start)
  • 26.Manana (Is Soon Enough For Me) - (false start)
  • 27."It Jumps" About "Helpless"
  • 28."Sonriente" Practice
  • 29.I'm Looking Out the Window - (Thank You Very Much break)

Product Description:

The deluxe 4-CD SINGLES COLLECTION comes with a 71-page booklet including an essay by Will Friedwald and a complete singles discography by Ivan Santiago as well as rare photos and LP covers.
Personnel includes: Peggy Lee, Mel Torme, Dean Martin (vocals); Dave Barbor & His Benny Goodman Orchestra; Bob Crosby & His Orchestra.
Compilation producers: Cy Godfrey, Steve Woof.
Recorded between 1941 & 1975.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
THE SINGLES COLLECTION was nominated for the 2004 Grammys Award for Best Album Notes and for Best Historical Album.
This comprehensive overview of Peggy Lee's singles output traces her development from the ex-big band singer of 1944's "You Was Right, Baby" (recorded more or less as a demo) to the established chanteuse she became in the '60s, covering the songs of youthful pop stars such as "Something" by the Beatles or Tim Hardin's "Misty Roses." Along the way, she has been conducted by Frank Sinatra ("The Folks Who Live on the Hill"), employed Randy Newman as an arranger ("Is That All There Is"), recorded with Louis Prima's Orchestra ("Yeah Yeah Yeah"), and rearranged a Duke Ellington theme into a hit song ("I'm Gonna Go Fishin'").
This is, of course, just the tip of the iceberg--there are jazz classics ("I Love Being Here with You"), ethereal ballads ("My Gentle Young Johnny"), and, of course, the amazingly sultry "Fever." But, most of all, there's Lee's voice--able to convey the strongest of emotions with the barest whisper, veering from modern-age ennui to aching sentimentality, always engaging our sympathies, and, above all, constantly swinging.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Peggy Lee

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353975623
  • Shipping Weight: 1.05/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)