Sounds Of Blackness The Night Before Christmas, Volume 2

The Night Before Christmas, Volume 2
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  368AR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 31, 2006
  • Label: Cc Ent / Copycats


  • 1.Joy of Christmas
  • 2.Season of Joy
  • 3.Do the Funky Chitlin'
  • 4.Super Fine Reindeer
  • 5.Jolly One Is Here, The - (2)
  • 6.Holiday Love - (2)
  • 7.We're So Grateful
  • 8.For Christmas' Sake
  • 9.Silent Night
  • 10.Love Is Born
  • 11.Holy Are You Lord
  • 12.All Through the Night
  • 13.Holiday Love - (instrumental, 2)
  • 14.All Through the Night - (instrumental)
  • 15.Holy Are You Lord - (instrumental)

Product Description:

Sounds of Blackness: Geoffrey Evean Jones (vocals, rap vocals); Chreese Jones (vocals, soprano); Cynthia 'Funkytown' Johnson (vocals, alto); Robert Edwards (vocals, tenor); Geoffrey Jones, Billy Steele (vocals, baritone); Core' S. Cotton, Patricia Lacy-Aiken, Carrie M. Harrington, Andrea Tribitt, Cornisha Garmon, David Hurst, Bridget Dawkins, Terry Garmon (vocals); Karl Demer (rap vocals, drum programming); Angela Henderson, Jayn Higgins (soprano); Sandra Harris, Carrie Harrington (alto); Terrence "T-Bone" Frierson (tenor); Gregory Sears (bass voice, spoken vocals); Gordon Bruce (bass voice); Levi Seacer, Jr. (guitar); Thomas Demer (violin, viola, cello); David Wright III (clarinet, alto saxophone); Louis J. Wilson (tenor saxophone); Larry 'Section' Sims (trumpet); Juan Carlos Navarro (trombone); Gary Hines (keyboards, drum programming); Daryl Boudreaux (percussion).
Personnel: Sounds of Blackness (background vocals); Terrence "T-Bone" Frierson (vocals).
Sounds of Blackness released their first Christmas album, Night Before Christmas: A Musical Fantasy, back in 1992. Produced by Terry Lewis and Jimmy Jam, one of the most dominant urban production teams of the 1980s, it was full of the big, cavernous, and somewhat trippy R&B sound the duo specialized in, and the result, at least to some ears, was more bombast than innovative, a problem that is at least somewhat addressed in Night Before Christmas, Vol. 2, which was recorded in 2004 with Terry Lewis and Jimmy Jam notably not aboard. Sounds of Blackness specialize in what might be called urban fusion gospel with a strong theatric base, and for this holiday album they've turned up the percussion on everything, so these tracks fly along on enough energetic polyrhythms to keep Santa jivin' forever. Although it's a little disconcerting to hear "Silent Night" sung to looped drums, the truth is, somebody had to do it eventually, so why not Sounds of Blackness? One of the best tracks here is "Do the Funky Chitlin'," which is, well, hugely funky, if only marginally seasonal. The final three cuts are instrumental backing tracks, and they're wonderfully huge in sound, with massed horns and strong, bold string arrangements (especially the jazzy big-band take of "Holiday Love 2"). In the end, this second volume seems less forced and more fun that the first installment, and the omnipresent drums alone will get you dancing as you hang those stockings with ease. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 2.5
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Product Groupings:
Get Email Alerts for Sounds Of Blackness

Product Info

  • UPC: 707541839327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)