John Denver Definitive All-Time Greatest Hits (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.5
104 ratings
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  RCA 607642

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: RCA

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Leaving on a Jet Plane
  • 2.Take Me Home, Country Roads
  • 3.Sunshine on My Shoulders
  • 4.Poems, Prayers and Promises
  • 5.The Eagle and the Hawk
  • 6.Rocky Mountain High
  • 7.Farewell Andromeda (Welcome to My Morning)
  • 8.Annie's Song
  • 9.Back Home Again
  • 10.Sweet Surrender
  • 11.Thank God I'm a Country Boy
  • 12.I'm Sorry
  • 13.Calypso
  • 14.Fly Away
  • 15.Looking for Space
  • 16.Like a Sad Song
  • 17.My Sweet Lady
  • 18.Perhaps Love
  • 19.Shanghai Breezes
  • 20.Wild Montana Skies

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Leaving on a Jet Plane - (previously unreleased, original version)
  • 2.Weight, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 3.Annie's Song - (Acoustic Mix, previously unreleased, acoustic version)
  • 4.Calypso - (Acoustic Mix, previously unreleased, acoustic version)

Product Description:

Initials pressings include bonus disc.
Personnel: John Denver (vocals, guitar); Emmylou Harris, Pl cido Domingo (vocals).
Audio Mixer: Chris Theis.
Liner Note Authors: Milton Okun; David Wild.
Recording information: Goldstar Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (??/1966-04/1983).
Photographer: Lowell Norman.
Arrangers: John Denver; Milton Okun; Dick Kniss; Lee Holdridge ; Mike Taylor .
Placing the word definitive on a best-of collection is usually a panicked label attempt to fill last-minute Christmas stockings, but in the case of RCA's Definitive All-Time Greatest Hits John Denver retrospective, it's a truly apt description. Coinciding with the 35th anniversary of Denver's first album release on RCA, the two-disc, 24-track overview of the country-pop singer's storied career is the most concise and nuanced yet. Digitally remastered from the original master tapes, road-trip classics like "Take Me Home, Country Roads," "Rocky Mountain High," and "Back Home Again" are as warm as the singer's lauded tenor. There are no gimmicky re-recorded cuts or disappointing live tracks -- "Thank God I'm a Country Boy" spent its time on the charts in its live incarnation -- and his spotty '80s material is only briefly covered ("Perhaps Love" and "Shanghai Breezes"). The only real omission is "Grandma's Feather Bed," but the 20-page booklet and song-by-song commentary by longtime friend Milt Okun more than suffice. The bonus disc, maddeningly sparse at just four tracks, makes up for its brevity by including a goose bump-inducing 1975 acoustic version of "Calypso." With the pompous string section, clanging ship bell, and unnecessary drum fills removed, his ode to Jacques Cousteau's tenacious vessel is a wonder of emotion and nautical kinsmenship that inarguably exhibits Denver as one of the greatest vocalists of his time. For those unwilling to sift through the exhaustive four-CD Country Roads Collection, this Definitive package is a good buy and a rewarding visit with an old friend.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 104 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 4.0 Definitive All-Time Greatest Hits (2-CD) Music Lover: from Dallas, NC US -- June, 10, 2007

Excellent CD, original material, etc. But if you're smart, you'll spring five bucks more for the ESSENTIAL John Denver CD. If you're only looking for the songs on this one, it's very good. If you're a real Denver fan, don't settle for the 2nd best collection.

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for John Denver

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 14,430
  • UPC: 828766076424
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

RCA Labels: