Howlin' Wolf The Definitive Collection

The Definitive Collection
22 ratings
Price: $10.79
You Save: $0.19 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YVWF
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Geffen Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Moanin' at Midnight
  • Buy for $0.992.How Many More Years
  • Buy for $0.993.Evil (Is Going On)
  • Buy for $0.994.Forty-Four
  • Buy for $1.295.Smokestack Lightnin'
  • Buy for $0.996.I Asked For Water
  • Buy for $0.997.Who's Been Talkin'
  • Buy for $0.998.Sitting on Top of the World
  • Buy for $0.999.Howlin' For My Darlin'
  • Buy for $0.9910.Wang Dang Doodle
  • Buy for $1.2911.Back Door Man
  • Buy for $1.2912.Spoonful
  • Buy for $0.9913.Shake For Me
  • Buy for $0.9914.The Red Rooster
  • Buy for $0.9915.I Ain't Superstitious
  • Buy for $0.9916.Goin' Down Slow
  • Buy for $0.9917.Three Hundred Pounds of Joy
  • Buy for $0.9918.Hidden Charms
  • Buy for $0.9919.Built For Comfort
  • Buy for $0.9920.Killing Floor

Product Description:

Personnel: Howlin' Wolf (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Willie Dixon (vocals); Willie Connell Johnson, Freddie King, Hubert Sumlin, Jody Williams, Otis Smokey Smothers (guitar); Abb Locke, Arnold Rogers (tenor saxophone); Donald Hankins (baritone saxophone); Henry Gray, Ike Turner, Hosea Lee Kennard, Lafayette Leake, Otis Spann, Albert Williams (piano); Andrew James McMahon, Earl Phillips, Fred Below, Willie Steele, S.P. Leary, Sam Lay (drums).
Liner Note Author: Mark Humphrey.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (??/1951-08/1964); Memphis, TN (??/1951-08/1964).
Photographers: Peter Amft; Joseph Sia; Ray Flerlage; Frank Driggs; John Gibbs Rockwood.
The Howlin' Wolf best-of compilation DEFINITIVE COLLECTION sports the exact same track list as the CHESS 50th ANNIVERSARY COLLECTION. In fact, DEFINITIVE is a straight-up repackaging of that set, right down to the cover photo. Fortunately, CHESS 50th, and by extension DEFINITIVE COLLECTION, is staggeringly great, start to finish.
With a heavy emphasis on the Wolf's 1950s Chess classics such as "Smokestack Lightnin'," "I Asked for Water," and "Spoonful," it's impossible to go wrong with this collection. Wolf's band at the time, featuring the angular and inimitable Hubert Sumlin on guitar, could burn a house to the ground, but it's the Wolf's hulking vocal presence, replete with growls, groans, husky solicitations, and goosebump-raising yowls that earmark this material as some of the most compelling blues ever put to wax. Every track is essential, making the set a necessity for any fan of roots, blues, or rock.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 22 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Howlin' Wolf

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,657
  • UPC: 602517240865
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)