Captain Beefheart The Best of Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band

The Best of Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band
1 rating
Price: $9.88
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GHYS
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 27, 2002
  • Label: EMI Import


  • 1.Safe As Milk - (studio)
  • 2.Gimme Dat Harp Boy - (studio)
  • 3.Kandy Korn - (studio)
  • 4.Upon The My O My - (studio)
  • 5.New Electric Ride - (studio)
  • 6.Party Of Special Things To Do - (studio)
  • 7.Twist Ah Luck - (studio)
  • 8.Blue Jeans And Moonbeams - (studio)
  • 9.Floppy Boot Stomp - (studio)
  • 10.Bat Chain Puller - (studio)
  • 11.Run Paint Run Run - (studio)
  • 12.Hot Head - (studio)
  • 13.Ashtray Heart - (studio)
  • 14.Ice Cream For Crow - (studio)
  • 15.Past Sure Is Tense - (studio)
  • 16.Witch Doctor Life - (studio)

Product Description:

16-track compilation from eccentric American rocker Captain Beefheart (Don Van Vliet) and the Magic Band. Tracks span the 1960s to the '80s and include "Safe As Milk" and "Bat Chain Puller".
Liner Note Author: Mike Barnes .
This is a compilation of tracks from the Magic Band's tenure on the Virgin and Liberty labels. This is unfortunate on two counts: there is no material from the vital Reprise period (including the legendary Trout Mask Replica), and there are selections from Bluejeans & Moonbeams and Unconditionally Guaranteed, generally acknowledged as the weakest albums in the good Captain's catalog. Any best-of for a singular artist like Captain Beefheart is going to have some debatable inclusions and omissions, but five tracks combined from Bluejeans & Moonbeams and Unconditionally Guaranteed is too many, by almost anyone's estimation. By contrast, the Dust Blows Forward anthology has a grand total of one tune each from those albums. Aside from that, selections are nothing to quibble about, but those two mediocre efforts account for nearly one-third of this compilation. Beefheart fans, of course, will probably already own this material, and a true novice would probably be better-served with Dust Blows Forward, which covers Beefheart's entire career, encompassing all represented record labels. ~ Sean Westergaard

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Captain Beefheart

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353938321
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)