Cilla Black The Best of the EMI Years [2001 Repacked Edition]

The Best of the EMI Years [2001 Repacked Edition]
5 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GHXJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 28, 2000
  • Label: EMI Import


  • 1.You're My World - (studio)
  • 2.Anyone Who Had A Heart - (studio)
  • 3.Love Of The Loved - (studio)
  • 4.It's For You - (studio)
  • 5.You've Lost That Lovin Feelin - (studio)
  • 6.I've Been Wrong Before - (studio)
  • 7.Goin Out Of My Head - (studio)
  • 8.Love's Just A Broken Heart - (studio)
  • 9.Alfie - (studio)
  • 10.Fool Am I - (studio)
  • 11.Sing A Rainbow - (studio)
  • 12.Don't Answer Me - (studio)
  • 13.When I Fall In Love - (studio)
  • 14.Yesterday - (studio)
  • 15.Make It Easy On Yourself - (studio)
  • 16.What Good Am I? - (studio)
  • 17.I Onlylive To Love You - (studio)
  • 18.Step Inside Love - (studio)
  • 19.Where Is Tomorrow? - (studio)
  • 20.What The World Needs Now Is Love - (studio)
  • 21.Conversations - (studio)
  • 22.Surround Yourself With Sorrow - (studio)
  • 23.If I Thought You'd Ever Change Your Mind - (studio)
  • 24.Something Tells Me (Somethings Gonna Happen Tonigh - (studio)
  • 25.Liverpool Lullaby - (studio)
  • 26.Baby We Can't Go Wtong - (studio)

Product Description:

Arrangers: George Martin; John Scott; Johnny Harris; Johnny Pearson; Mike Vickers; Mort Shuman; Nick Welsh; Burt Bacharach.
Among the many recording artists who rode to fame on the Beatles' bandwagon, Cilla Black -- the singing hat-check girl at Liverpool's Cavern Club -- was truly one with enduring talent. It's hard to find anything more reminiscent of swinging '60s London than "Love of the Loved," a Paul McCartney tune and Cilla's debut single (1963). Two McCartney follow-ups, "It's for You" and "Step Inside Love," utilized Cilla's high-powered, slightly nasal delivery as the key element in a highly successful formula -- luring listeners with a softly bewitching intro, then knocking 'em dead with a full-tilt chorus. A generous selection of cabaret ballads appear on this release, many of which were big hits back in Britain. Among these are the Bacharach-David tunes "Alfie," "Make It Easy on Yourself," and "What the World Needs Now Is Love," though Cilla's renditions are somehow less convincing than Dionne Warwick's. Still, if you're a fan -- for completeness' sake anyway -- this is the Cilla CD to own. ~ Stansted Montfichet

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Cilla Black

Product Info

  • UPC: 724352849727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)