Tim Buckley The Best of Tim Buckley

The Best of Tim Buckley
5 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.45 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.99
You Save: $1.54 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YWC2
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 3, 2006
  • Label: Elektra / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - p.147
4 stars out of 5 -- "Tim Buckley sang with one of the most beautiful voices to grace any era..."
Dirty Linen - p.59
"[This collection] includes several of his gorgeous tracks from HELLO AND GOODBYE....The collection is rounded out with several tracks from his lesser-known recordings..."
Global Rhythm (Publication) (p.45) - "[H]e glided through songs with his improvisational style and peculiar arrangements. His unique relationship with the world was present in his songs."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.128
4 stars out of 5 -- "The earliest material remains as pure and thrilling as on the day it was born, Buckley's remarkably supple, multi-octave voice is a thing of wonder."


  • 1.Aren't You the Girl
  • 2.Song for Janie
  • 3.I Can't See You
  • 4.Carnival Song
  • 5.Morning Glory
  • 6.Goodbye and Hello
  • 7.Sing a Song for You - (Take 11)
  • 8.Once I Was
  • 9.Strange Feelin'
  • 10.I Had a Talk With My Woman
  • 11.Happy Time
  • 12.I Must Have Been Blind
  • 13.The River
  • 14.Song to the Siren
  • 15.Dolphins
  • 16.Martha
  • 17.Move With Me
  • 18.Look at the Fool

Product Description:

Personnel: Tim Buckley (vocals, guitar, 12-string guitar, bottleneck guitar, vibraphone, kalimba); Tim Buckley; Clydie King, Lorna Willard, Venetta Fields (vocals); Lee Underwood (guitar, piano); Brian Hartzler, John Forsha, Joe Falsia, Bob Rafkin (guitar); Jesse Ehrlich (cello); Don Randi (piano, harpsichord, harmonium); Jerry Yester (piano, harmonium, organ); Kevin Kelly (piano); Mark Tieman (electric piano); Chuck Rainey (bass guitar); Billy Mundi (drums, percussion); Ed Greene, Fast Eddie Hoh, Jimmy Madison (drums); Carter C.C. Collins (congas, percussion); King Errisson (congas); Dave Guard (kalimba, tambourine); Van Dyke Parks (celesta, harpsichord); David Friedman (vibraphone); Earl Palmer (drums).
Audio Mixer: Bruce Botnick.
Audio Remasterer: Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: Matthew Specktor.
Photographers: Ed Caraeff; Jack Robinson.
For an artist like Tim Buckley, compiling a Best Of may be a Herculean task. Like all musical visionaries, Buckley consistently changed his own rules for how to define his best, so a collection may do only cursory justice to such an extraordinary career. Of course, Buckley's unearthly gifted voice, with its multi-octave pyrotechnic range, remains a constant in all of his work, and BEST OF TIM BUCKLEY compiles some of his most memorable performances in one place.
The disc highlights everything from his baroque folk-rock records of the late 1960s to his more experimental jazz and soul records of the '70s, including, from the former, such gems as "Strange Feelin'" and "Morning Glory" and, from the latter, "Song to the Siren" and a fantastic cover of Fred Neil's epic "Dolphins," a song Buckley was born to sing. While not for Buckley completists, this collection is a great start for the uninitiated.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Tim Buckley

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 109,295
  • UPC: 081227411626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)