John Lennon Wonsaponatime

25 ratings
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  3484F
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: November 3, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Capitol


  • 1.I'm Losing You
  • 2.Working Class Hero
  • 3.God
  • 4.How Do You Sleep?
  • 5.Imagine - (take 1)
  • 6.Baby Please Don't Go
  • 7.Oh My Love
  • 8.God Save Oz
  • 9.I Found Out - (home recording)
  • 10.Woman Is The Nigger Of The World - (live)
  • 11."Kiss Is Just A Kiss, A" - (home recording)
  • 12.Be Bop A Lula
  • 13.Rip It Up / Ready Teddy
  • 14.What You Got - (home recording)
  • 15.Nobody Loves You When You're Down And Out
  • 16.I Don't Wanna Face It
  • 17.Real Love - (home recording)
  • 18.Only You
  • 19.Grow Old With Me
  • 20.Sean's "In The Sky" - (home recording)
  • 21.Serve Yourself - (home recording)

Product Description:

WONSAPONATIME consists of selected tracks from the JOHN LENNON ANTHOLOGY on Capitol [2438 30614].
Personnel includes: John Lennon (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, piano); Dwarf McDougal (acoustic piano); George Harrison, Earl Slick, Hugh McCracken, Jesse Ed Davis (electric guitar); Rick Nielson, Wayne Gabriel (guitar); Bobby Keys, Stan Bronstein (saxophone); Nicky Hopkins (acoustic & electric pianos); George Small (electric piano, keyboards); Yoko Ono, Ken Ascher, Billy Preston (electric piano); John Barham (harmonium); Adam Ippolito (keyboards); Tom Petersson, Klauss Voormann, John Ward, Gary Van Scyoc, Tony Levin (bass); Bun E. Carlos, Ringo Starr, Alan White, Jim Gordon, Jim Keltner, Rick Frank, Andy Newmark (drums); Harry Nilsson (background vocals).
Producers include: John Lennon, Yoko Ono, Jack Douglas, Phil Spector, George Martin.
Compilation producers: Yoko Ono, Rob Stevens.
Engineers include: Andy Strange, Peter Cobin, Steve Orchard.
Includes liner notes by Yoko Ono.
Digitally remastered by George Marino (Sterling Sound).
If the corresponding Lennon Anthology box (4 CDs) gives you more inside information than you ever wanted about anyone--even he of former Beatle fame--then WONSAPONATIME is your ticket. With these select out-takes and demos Yoko Ono has compiled the aural equivalent of a snap shot "brag book." From shaming Paul on "How Do You Sleep" to wooing Yoko on "Oh My Love;" from the minimalist screed of "I Found Out" to the utopian yearning of "Imagine," Lennon vents and reflects in mostly familiar tunes with alternative settings.
On "Be Bop A Lula" and "Rip It Up/Ready Teddy" Lennon sports his rock n' roll roots and chops with obvious glee. The acoustic guitar version of his post-'60s anti-anthem "God" is revelatory in that none of the dynamics of the released version on "Plastic Ono Band" had been established yet. Still one senses from his impassioned delivery that Lennon knew he had written one of his most memorable works. The blasphemous humor of "Serve Yourself," which closes the disc, is worth the price of admission alone.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 25 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for John Lennon

Product Info

  • UPC: 724349763920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)