The Beach Boys The Pet Sounds Sessions (4-CD Box Set)

The Pet Sounds Sessions (4-CD Box Set)
57 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $57.58
SUPER SAVINGS: $52.45 Limited Time Only
List Price: $63.98
You Save: $11.53 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  YW4C
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: October 27, 1997
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

NME (Magazine) - 10/18/97, p.58
10 (out of 10) - "...THE PET SOUNDS SESSIONS is thunderously anal....a thoroughly bewitching experience....This, then, is PET SOUNDS: The Autopsy; each song's vital components carved out and slapped on the slab for inspection....A masterpiece..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Wouldn't It Be Nice - (stereo mix)
  • 2.You Still Believe In Me - (stereo mix)
  • 3.That's Not Me - (stereo mix)
  • 4.Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) - (stereo mix)
  • 5.I'm Waiting For The Day - (stereo mix)
  • 6.Let's Go Away For Awhile - (stereo mix)
  • 7.Sloop John B - (stereo mix)
  • 8.God Only Knows - (stereo mix)
  • 9.I Know There's An Answer - (stereo mix)
  • 10.Here Today - (stereo mix)
  • 11.I Just Wasn't Made For These Times - (stereo mix)
  • 12.Pet Sounds - (stereo mix)
  • 13.Caroline, No - (stereo mix)
  • 14.Sloop John B - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 15.Sloop John B - (stereo backing track)
  • 16.Trombone Dixie - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 17.Trombone Dixie - (stereo backing track)
  • 18.Pet Sounds - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 19.Pet Sounds - (stereo track without guitar overdub)
  • 20.Let's Go Away For Awhile - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 21.Let's Go Away For Awhile - (stereo track without string overdub)
  • 22.Wouldn't It Be Nice - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 23.Wouldn't It Be Nice - (stereo backing track)
  • 24.Wouldn't It Be Nice - (stereo track with background vocals)
  • 25.You Still Believe In Me - (intro-session)
  • 26.You Still Believe In Me - (intro-master take)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Caroline, No - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 2.Caroline, No - (stereo backing track)
  • 3.Hang On To Your Ego - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 4.Hang On To Your Ego - (stereo backing track)
  • 5.Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) - (Brian's instrumental demo instrumental)
  • 6.Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) - (stereo backing track)
  • 7.Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) - (string overdub)
  • 8.I Just Wasn't Made For These Times - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 9.I Just Wasn't Made For These Times - (stereo backing track)
  • 10.That's Not Me - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 11.That's Not Me - (stereo backing track)
  • 12.Good Vibrations - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 13.Good Vibrations - (stereo backing track)
  • 14.I'm Waiting For The Day - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 15.I'm Waiting For The Day - (stereo backing date)
  • 16.God Only Knows - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 17.Here Today - (highlights from tracking date)
  • 18.Here Today - (stereo backing track)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Wouldn't It Be Nice - (vocals only)
  • 2.You Still Believe In Me - (vocals only)
  • 3.That's Not Me - (vocals only)
  • 4.Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) - (vocals only mix)
  • 5.I'm Waiting For The Day - (vocals only)
  • 6.Sloop John B - (vocals only)
  • 7.God Only Knows - (vocals only)
  • 8.I Know There's An Answer - (vocals only)
  • 9.Here Today - (vocals only)
  • 10.I Just Wasn't Made For These Times - (vocals only)
  • 11.Caroline, No - (vocals only)
  • 12.Caroline, No - (promotional spot #1)
  • 13.Wouldn't It Be Nice - (alternate version)
  • 14.You Still Believe In Me - (alternate version)
  • 15.Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) - (vocal snippet)
  • 16.I'm Waiting For The Day - (Mike sings lead)
  • 17.Sloop John B - (Carl sings first verse)
  • 18.God Only Knows - (sax solo, alternate version)
  • 19.Hang On To Your Ego - (alternate version)
  • 20.Here Today - (alternate version)
  • 21.I Just Wasn't Made For These Times - (alternate version)
  • 22.Banana & Louie - (alternate version)
  • 23.Caroline, No - (stereo mix, original speed)
  • 24.Dog Barking Session - (outtakes)
  • 25.Caroline, No - (promotional spot #2)
  • 26.God Only Knows - (with a cappella tag)
  • 27.Wouldn't It Be Nice - (alternate version)
  • 28.Sloop John B - (Brian Wilson vocal)
  • 29.God Only Knows - (Brian Wilson vocal)
  • 30.Caroline, No - (mono mix, original speed)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Wouldn't It Be Nice
  • 2.You Still Believe In Me
  • 3.That's Not Me
  • 4.Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder)
  • 5.I'm Waiting For The Day
  • 6.Let's Go Away For Awhile
  • 7.Sloop John B
  • 8.God Only Knows
  • 9.I Know There's An Answer
  • 10.Here Today
  • 11.I Just Wasn't Made For These Times
  • 12.Pet Sounds
  • 13.Caroline, No

Product Description:

This four-disc box set includes the first true stereo mix of the Beach Boys' 1966 album PET SOUNDS on one disc, and a new mono mix of the album on another. The mono mix was remastered using 24-bit High Density Compatible Digital (HDCD) technology.
Another disc is highlighted by a cappella mixes of 11 songs from PET SOUNDS. The set also features outtakes, alternate versions, demos and a variety of instrumental mixes of the album's 13 songs. THE PET SOUNDS SESSIONS box includes a 120-page full color book.
The Beach Boys: Brian Wilson, Carl Wilson, Dennis Wilson, Mike Love, Bruce Johnston, Al Jardine.
Compilation producers: David Leaf, Brian Wilson.
Recorded in 1965 & 1966. Includes liner notes by Brian Wilson, The Beach Boys, Paul McCartney and George Martin.
All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
THE PET SOUNDS SESSIONS: A 30TH ANNIVERSARY COLLECTION was nominated for the 1999 Grammy Award for Best Historical Album.
When it comes to landmark albums, it's hard to beat the Beach Boys 1966 masterwork, PET SOUNDS. Not only was it the direct inspiration for the following year's SGT. PEPPER, and for countless other works by '60s psychedelic groups; its influence was strong enough more than three decades after its release to warrant this 4-disc box set. In the nineties, the orchestral pop of acts such as Eric Matthews, The High Llamas and Epic Soundtracks owed its brass to Brian Wilson's brainchild.
Over the course of four jam-packed discs, PET SOUNDS SESSIONS offers vocal-only and instrumental-only mixes of all the original tracks. In additional to the familiar version of the album, there are also alternate performances as well as alternate and mono mixes, working versions sketched out in the studio, and songs that never made it onto the original release. The box comes with a lavish book filled with photos and inside info on the sessions. This set provides a rare glimpse into the inner workings of one of pop music's most innovative minds, and the process by which he and his bandmates made musical history.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 57 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Beach Boys

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 57,544
  • UPC: 724383766222
  • Shipping Weight: 1.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)