John Lennon Live in New York City

Live in New York City
27 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  35DDR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 12, 1986
  • Originally Released: 1988
  • Label: Capitol


  • 1.New York City
  • 2.It's So Hard
  • 3.Woman Is The Nigger Of The World
  • 4.Well Well Well
  • 5.Instant Karma (We All Shine On)
  • 6.Mother
  • 7.Come Together
  • 8.Imagine
  • 9.Cold Turkey
  • 10.Hound Dog
  • 11.Give Peace A Chance

Product Description:

Personnel: John Lennon (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Yoko Ono (vocals, keyboards); Wayne "Tex" Gabriel (guitar); Stan Bronstein (saxophone); Adam Ippolito (keyboards); John Ward, Gary VanScyoc (bass instrument); Jim Keltner, Rick Frank (drums).
"Que pasa, New York?" sings John Lennon in the song for his new home that opens this historic Madison Square Garden appearance. On LIVE IN NEW YORK CITY, Lennon sounds thoroughly excited and just on the brink of chaos at times, but his hard-earned rocker chops don't let him down. The political is balanced with the personal here. Lennon chooses a favorite from his Cavern Club days, "Hound Dog," as well as one from the late Beatles' repertoire, "Come Together." The tender utopian vision of "Imagine," with a catchy new sax hook on the bridge, is contrasted with the bleak, pain-infused "Cold Turkey."
As politically minded as Lennon was at this point in his life, where he once sang "Yeah, yeah, yeah" ("She Loves You," 1963) and "No, no, no" ("I'm So Tired," 1968), here he settles for "Well, Well, Well," existentially musing about whether or not one can raise consciousness in the face of the unstoppable force of destiny. On the chilling "Mother," we feel our own pain, not just his, and when the serio-comic "Instant Karma" starts churning irresistibly, one wants to hug this sorely missed New-York-by-way-of-Liverpool rock & roller in recognition and appreciation.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 27 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for John Lennon

Product Info

  • UPC: 077774619622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)