23 Skidoo Seven Songs [LTM]

Seven Songs [LTM]
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.42 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2.56 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  H6SW
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Ltm

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.101
"[A] hallucinatory, panic-attack urban funk, that perfectly captures the bad-trip paranoia of the times."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.90
3 stars out of 5 -- "It sits in a wild area between Cabaret Voltaire and The Pop Group."


  • Buy for $0.991.Kundalini
  • Buy for $0.992.Vegas el Bandito
  • Buy for $0.993.Mary's Operation
  • Buy for $0.994.Lock Groove
  • Buy for $0.995.New Testament
  • Buy for $0.996.IY
  • Buy for $0.997.Porno Base
  • Buy for $0.998.Quiet Pillage
  • Buy for $0.999.Last Words
  • 10.The Gospel Comes to New Guinea
  • Buy for $0.9911.Tearing Up the Plans, Pt. 1
  • Buy for $0.9912.Tearing Up the Plans, Pt. 2
  • Buy for $0.9913.Just Like Everybody
  • Buy for $0.9914.Gregouka

Product Description:

Personnel: Johnny Turnbull (vocals, chant, guitar, clarinet, horns, congas, percussion, tapes); Sam Mills (vocals, guitar, piano, drums); Fritz Catlin (vocals, violin, drums, tapes); Tom Heslop (vocals, reeds, saxophone); Alex Turnbull (chant, trumpet, drums, percussion, background vocals).
Liner Note Author: James Nice.
A more descriptive title would have been "Seven Panic Attacks," but even a bland title isn't able to prevent the undeniably savage, pungent impact of Seven Songs, a half-hour long album that plays out like a soundtrack to being bounty hunted in an expansive jungle. Following "Kundalini," a hectoring brain shake that hardly resembles the dormant energy it's named after, "Vegas el Bandito" enters and doesn't imply the James Brown of "Cold Sweat" so much as the panic of night sweats, churning out a taut groove of slap-happy bass, pattering drums, horn trills, and a scratchy-scratch guitar line that chases its tail. An echoing trumpet carries through the end of the song and drifts right on into "Mary's Operation," an anemic drone of even creepier horns and tape loops. "New Testament" is an industrial death lurch of rusted metallic sheets, giving way to "IY," a cluster of conga acrobatics with needling saxophones and frenetic chants thrown on top. "Porno Base," the real knockout, contains little more than a series of abysmal bass pluckings placed just far enough apart to induce chronic paranoia, sounding less like a smut-film score than "Welcome to the Terror Drone." The finale, "Quiet Pillage," despite its exotica reference, could only be played in the ruins of a lounge post-carpet bombing. This is post-punk at its most invigorating and terrifying. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5024545527520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)