Grateful Dead Live At The Cow Palace: New Year's Eve 1976 (3-CD)

Live At The Cow Palace: New Year's Eve 1976 (3-CD)
22 ratings
Price: $28.78
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $3.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  H6KR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: January 22, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.50
"[T]here's an undeniable bounciness and swagger running through this three-hour-plus set."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Promised Land
  • 2.Bertha
  • 3.Mama Tried
  • 4.They Love Each Other
  • 5.Looks Like Rain
  • 6.Deal
  • 7.Playing In The Band

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sugar Magnolia
  • 2.Eyes Of The World
  • 3.Wharf Rat
  • 4.Good Lovin'
  • 5.Samson & Delilah
  • 6.Scarlet Begonias

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Around And Around
  • 2.Help On The Way
  • 3.Slipkknot!
  • 4.Drums
  • 5.Not Fade Away
  • 6.Morning Dew
  • 7.One More Saturday Night
  • 8.Uncle John's Band
  • 9.We Bid You Goodnight

Product Description:

Grateful Dead: Donna Jean Godchaux, Jerry Garcia, Keith Godchaux, Mickey Hart, Phil Lesh, Bill Kreutzmann, Bob Weir.
Audio Mixer: Jeffrey Norman.
Liner Note Author: David Lemieux.
Recording information: Cow Palace, Daly City, CA (12/31/1976).
All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
Photographers: Ed Perlstein; Steve Schneider.
Arrangers: Bob Weir; Grateful Dead.
The first release from the Grateful Dead's storied live vaults since Rhino Records acquired the rights to them, LIVE AT THE COW PALACE: NEW YEAR'S EVE 1976 chronicles one crazy long concert (with the Dead, is there any other kind?) that started early on December 31, 1976 and ended deep into the wee hours on January 1, 1977. The raucous atmosphere befits the proceedings, but also suggests that this show was a homecoming, as the band returned to its San Francisco for the occasion.
Long criticized by the lay audience for all their meandering tendencies, this set finds the Godchaux-era Dead emphasizing their song craft by plucking hummable gems from all across their catalog. The set quickly turns into a night of essentially greatest hits as an inspired band rolls through "Sugar Magnolia," "Uncle John's Band," "Playing in the Band," and "Scarlet Begonias," among others. It would not be a live keeper, however, without some lengthy excursions, and LIVE AT THE COW PALACE features two of the band's trademark epic medleys--one of which contains a stirring Donna Godchaux vocal that easily refutes the argument that she was the band's most unnecessary member.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 22 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Grateful Dead

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227481629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.35/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)