Hootie & The Blowfish Scattered, Smothered and Covered (2-CD)

Scattered, Smothered and Covered (2-CD)
52 ratings
Price: $9.88
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  H6K8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 24, 2000
  • Label: Atlantic

Entertainment Reviews:

No Depression - 3-4/01, p.115
"...The guests bring some welcome variety, and along with the strong undercurrents of blues and country...it all combines to make this an unusually strong effort..."


  • 1.Fine Line
  • 2.I Go Blind
  • 3.Almost Home
  • 4.Hey Hey What Can I Do
  • 5.Renaissance Eyes
  • 6.Before the Heartache Rolls In
  • 7.Araby
  • 8.I'm over You
  • 9.Gravity of the Situation
  • 10.I Hope That I Don't Fall in Love with You - (from "MTV Unplugged")
  • 11.Dream Baby - (from "White Man's Burden")
  • 12.Driver 8
  • 13.Let Me Be Your Man
  • 14.Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want
  • 15.Use Me

Product Description:

Hootie & The Blowfish: Mark Bryan, Darius Rucker (vocals, guitar); Dean Felber (vocals, bass); Jim Sonefeld (vocals, drums, percussion).
Additional personnel includes: Edwin McCain (vocals); Jon Nau (keyboards); Craig Shields (baritone saxophone); Gary Greene (percussion).
Producers: Don Gehman, Tracy Schroeder, Don Dixon, Mark Williams.
Principally recorded at N.R.G. Recording Services, North Hollywood, California and Reflection Studios, Charlotte, North Carolina.
Personnel: Mark Bryan (vocals, guitar, mandolin, Wurlitzer organ); Darius Rucker (vocals, guitar); Jim Sonefeld (vocals, acoustic guitar, drums, percussion); Dean Felber (vocals, acoustic guitar); Edwin McCain , Nanci Griffith (vocals); Doug Lancio (guitar); Jamie Hoover (electric 12-string guitar, organ); Peter Holsapple (mandolin); Craig Shields (baritone saxophone); Timothy Sommer (organ); John Nau (keyboards); Gary Greene, Pat McInerney (percussion); Walker Sisters (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: David Leonard ; Don Dixon; Don Gehman; Doug Trantow.
Audio Remixers: Don Gehman; Mark Dearnley.
Recording information: N.R.G. Recording Services, North Hollywood, CA; Reflections, Charlotte, NC; Royaltone Studios; The Horseshoe, University Of South Carolina for MTV Unp; The Site, Marin County, CA.
Photographers: Elizabeth Stockton; Lorenzo Agius.
Still entirely comfortable with their reputation of being the ultimate bar band despite having released a debut that sold around 15 million copies, Hootie & The Blowfish regrouped for their fourth album with a covers record featuring rarities and previously unreleased material. Hipsters may sneer at the unassuming musical delivery and Joe Six-Pack personae, but the band's dedication to its fans extended to spearheading an Internet campaign that found voters picking a third of the songs on this collection.
Of the five songs picked by web fiat, artists who get the Hootie treatment include Led Zeppelin (a mandolin-driven "Hey Hey What Can I Do"), The Smiths (a note-perfect "Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want"), and the New Grass Revival (a harmony-laden "Let Me Be Your Man"). The Hootie selections that round out this surprisingly diverse bag include R.E.M., whose "Driver 8" is given a dirge-like arrangement, and a punky rendition of The Reivers' "Araby" that offers some redemption. Darius Rucker's soulful baritone continues to keep the Blowfish afloat and is best utilized on a rich reading of Roy Orbison's "Dream Baby," complete with Jordanaires-like harmonizing.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 52 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Hootie & The Blowfish

Product Info

  • UPC: 075678340826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)