Peter Gabriel Revisited

12 ratings
List Price: $13.99
Price: $12.59
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  H6K3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: November 10, 1992
  • Label: Wea Int'l


  • 1.On The Air
  • 2.Modern Love
  • 3.Indigo
  • 4.Solsbury Hill
  • 5.Perspective
  • 6.Waiting For The Big One
  • 7.Animal Magic
  • 8.Humdrum
  • 9.D.I.Y.
  • 10.Mother Of Violence
  • 11.Slowburn
  • 12.Exposure
  • 13.Moribund The Burgermeister
  • 14.Flotsam And Jetsam
  • 15.Here Comes The Flood

Product Description:

Personnel: Peter Gabriel (vocals, keyboard, flute, recorder); Robert Fripp (guitar, banjo); Steve Hunter (guitar); Sidney McGinnis (guitar, mandolin, background vocals); George Marge (recorder); Timmy Capelo, Bayette, Roy Bittan (keyboards); Jozef Chirowski (keyboards, synthesizer); Larry Fast (synthesizer); Tony Levin (electric & acoustic basses, tuba, background vocals); Jerry Marotta (drums, background vocals).
Recorded at The Soundstage, Toronto, Canada and Relight Studios, Hilvarenbeek, Holland.
This collection contains tracks from Peter Gabriel's first 2 LP's, both entitled PETER GABRIEL (released in 1977 and 1978).
Personnel: Peter Gabriel (vocals, flute, recorder, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); Dick Wagner (guitar, background vocals); Steve Hunter (guitar); Sid McGinnis (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, steel guitar, mandolin, background vocals); Robert Fripp (electric guitar, classical guitar, banjo); George Marge (recorder); Tim Cappello (saxophone); Tony Levin (tuba, Chapman stick, background vocals); Josef Chirowski (keyboards, synthesizer, percussion); Bayete, Roy Bittan (keyboards); Larry Fast (synthesizer); Jerry Marotta (drums, background vocals); Allan Schwartzberg (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Stephen Innocenzi.
Recording information: Relight Studios, Hilvarenbeek, The Netherlands; Soundstage, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Josef Chirowski; Robert Fripp; Tony Levin ; Allan Schwartzberg.
Arranger: Tony Levin .
Before he had settled into his signature sound, the post-Genesis Peter Gabriel put out two solo records on which he explored a wide musical palette. The first, featuring dramatic, over-the-top production by Bob Ezrin, has a heavy, orchestral-rock flavor, while the second has an otherworldly, astringent quality thanks to producer Robert Fripp. True Gabriel fans will insist that both of these records are essential in their entirety, but REVISITED is a well-chosen collection that distills most of the critical tracks from PG I and II.
Among the 15 songs collected here, "Solsbury Hill" is the only certifiable hit, but, as the title of the collection implies, these early solo efforts are well worth revisiting. Mr. Gabriel has always been a man of many moods. He veers from loose, melodic gems ("D.I.Y.") to vitriolic riff-rock ("Perspective," "Modern Love"), and he knows how to wrench poignancy out of a simple melody, as on "Flotsam & Jetsam" and "Indigo." This is great headphone music, featuring sonic touches like Larry Fast's eardrum-tickling synthesizer on "On the Air" and the close-your-eyes-and-you're-in-a-meadow insect buzz at the beginning of "Mother of Violence."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.5
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Peter Gabriel

Product Info

  • UPC: 075678242922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)