Dave Alvin Public Domain: Songs From the Wild Land

Public Domain: Songs From the Wild Land
10% OFF
Rating 4.2
21 ratings
List Price: $13.98
Price: $12.58
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format:  CD
Item:  YWQ7
on most orders of $50+
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Hightone Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 8/31/00, p.76
3.5 stars out of 5 - "...Digs deeper than ever into the past....handsomely produced....Place [this album] next to your Billy Bragg and Wilco discs, in the section marked 'American Revival'."
Uncut - 2/01, p.79
4 stars out of 5 - "...The quality of Alvin and guests' musicianship is exceptional..."
CMJ - 8/7/00, p.42
"...Compositional creativity [with] some of his own influences to great effect..."
No Depression - 9-10/00, p.112
"...Wonderful....The immediate delight is in the musical detail....Alvin sings with deep emotional investment..."


  • Buy for $1.291.Shenandoah
  • Buy for $1.292.Maggie Campbell Blues
  • Buy for $1.293.A Short Life of Trouble
  • Buy for $1.294.What Does the Deep Sea Say?
  • Buy for $1.295.Engine 143
  • Buy for $1.296.Delia
  • Buy for $1.297.Dark Eyes
  • Buy for $1.298.Walk Right In
  • Buy for $1.299.Murder of the Lawson Family
  • Buy for $1.2910.Don't Let Your Deal Go Down
  • Buy for $1.2911.Railroad Bill
  • Buy for $1.2912.Texas Rangers
  • Buy for $1.2913.Mama, 'Tain't Long Fo' Day
  • Buy for $1.2914.East Virginia Blues
  • Buy for $1.2915.Sign of Judgment
  • Buy for $1.2916.[Untitled Instrumental Track] - (Hidden Track)

Product Description:

Dave Alvin & The Guilty Men: Dave Alvin (vocals, acoustic, electric & bottleneck slide guitars); Rick Shea (acoustic, electric & pedal steel guitars, mandolin, background vocals); Joe Terry (accordion, piano, organ, background vocals); Gregory Boaz (acoustic & electric basses); Bobby Lloyd Hicks (drums, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Greg Leisz (slide guitar, dobro, mandolin); Brantley Kearns (fiddle, background vocals); John "Juke" Logan (harmonica); David Jackson (acoustic & electric bass).
Recorded at My Place Or Yours Studio, Glendale, California in April 2000. Includes liner notes by Dave Alvin.
PUBLIC DOMAIN won the 2001 Grammy Award for Best Traditional Folk Album.
Personnel: Rick Shea (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin); Gregory Boaz (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Greg Leisz (slide guitar, dobro, mandolin); Brantley Kearns (fiddle); Joe Terry (accordion, piano, harmonium, organ); Mark Linett (recorder).
Audio Mixer: Mark Linett.
Recording information: My Place Or Yours Studio, lGlendale, CA (04/2000).
Dave Alvin has carved out a body of work as lasting as the Rocky Mountains. With PUBLIC DOMAIN, he set his sights on the timeless songs in the public domain. From obscure origins and shadow-filled histories, these songs have endured thanks to the people who keep them alive by singing them.
Dave Alvin's deep and resonant voice has grown more facile with each ensuing year. It's become a confident instrument he wields with subtle vigor. Alvin's choice of material energized not only him, but also his parcel of like-minded, rough and tumble bandmates. The songs can roll along with chugging grooves ("Maggie Campbell") or be cast in crystalline elegance ("Short Life Of Trouble"). These 15 songs are doorways into the passions, daring, honesty, grief, regrets, lust, and redemption that are our shared humanity.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 21 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Dave Alvin

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 116,125
  • UPC: 012928812221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.15/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)