Tom Russell Song of the West: The Cowboy Collection

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
4 ratings
List Price: $13.98
Your Price: $12.58
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  HIG 2501
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: September 9, 1997
  • Label: Hightone Records


  • 1.Rambler Gambler
  • 2.The Banks of the Musselshell
  • 3.Dance Hall Girls
  • 4.The Sky Above Mud Below
  • 5.Hallie Lonnigan
  • 6.South Coast
  • 7.Gallo del Cielo
  • 8.Alkali
  • 9.The Ballad of William Sycamore
  • 10.The John Bull Tin
  • 11.Claude Dallas
  • 12.Rayburn Crane
  • 13.Llano Estacado, El
  • 14.Navajo Rug
  • 15.Prairie in the Sky

Product Description:

Personnel: Tom Russell (vocals, acoustic guitar); Andrew Hardin (guitar, acoustic guitar, gut-string guitar, tiple, percussion); Hank Bones (upright bass, 6-string bass).
Recording information: Bones Tones Studios, Brooklyn, NY (07/1996-12/1996); Off Broadway, St. Louis, MO (07/1996-12/1996).
Photographer: Raymond Mosken.
Arranger: Tom Russell.
One of the differences between filmmakers Ken Burns and Oliver Stone is that there's no one alive who can call Ken Burns a liar. And one of the similarities between Burns and songwriter Tom Russell is that few would even want to. Because, like Burns, Russell populates these (mostly original) Old West tales with such richly described, believable scalawags whose quisling, small-time means and motivations so utterly defy disbelief--we immediately recognize their cheap currency--that the names and details are moot.
Flaunting his wood-smoke and leather voice, Russell delivers the sonic equivalent of four months' Saturday afternoons of cinematic time-traveling on SONG OF THE WEST. Unlike Michael Martin Murphey's loving (and mostly successful) retrievals of cowboy songs, Russell's tales seem propelled from the past. This is not background music, and such songs as "The Sky Above, The Mud Below" deserve to be listened to with the attention one would give a great western film.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Tom Russell

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 131,303
  • UPC: 012928250122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.31/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item