Al Kooper Rare + Well Done: The Greatest & Most Obscure Recordings (2-CD)

Rare + Well Done: The Greatest & Most Obscure
17 ratings
Price: $14.39
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.59 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YX3V
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 9/21/01, p.85
"...Kooper made grandiose pop and white soul that occasionally capsized from its own ambitions...when it works few were better at pulling together such disparate strains..." - Rating: B

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.I Can't Quit Her - (demo)
  • Buy for $0.992.Somethin' Goin' On - (demo)
  • Buy for $0.993.Autumn Song
  • Buy for $0.994.I Can't Stand the Rain
  • Buy for $0.995.Baby Please Don't Go
  • Buy for $0.996.I Let Love Slip Through My Fingers
  • Buy for $0.697.Earthquake of Your Love, The - (demo)
  • 8.Bulgarya
  • Buy for $0.999.Nuthin' I Wouldn't Do (For a Woman Like You)
  • 10.New York's My Home AKA the Street Song - (aka The Street Song-single version)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Making Plans for Nigel
  • Buy for $0.9912.I Believe to My Soul
  • Buy for $0.9913.Went to See the Gypsy
  • Buy for $0.9914.Rachmaninoff's Birthday
  • Buy for $0.9915.Hey Jude - (rehearsal tape)
  • Buy for $0.6916.Living in My Own Religion
  • Buy for $0.6917.The Big Chase
  • Buy for $0.9918.They Just Don't Make 'Em Like That Anymore
  • Buy for $0.6919.A Drive Through the Old Neighborhood

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Can't Keep from Cryin' Sometimes
  • Buy for $0.992.I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know - (Sweat & Tears)
  • 3.This Diamond Ring
  • Buy for $0.994.Albert's Shuffle
  • Buy for $0.995.Bury My Body
  • 6.Season of the Witch
  • Buy for $0.997.New York City (You're a Woman)
  • 8.I Can't Quit Her
  • Buy for $0.999.I Stand Alone
  • 10.Flute Thing
  • Buy for $0.9911.You Never Know Who Your Friends Are
  • Buy for $0.9912.I Got a Woman
  • Buy for $0.9913.Brand New Day
  • Buy for $0.9914.Love Theme - (from "The Landlord")

Product Description:

All tracks on Disc 1 are previously unreleased except "New York's My Home (Razz-A-Ma-Tazz) (aka The Street Song)".
Personnel includes: Al Kooper (vocals, guitar, piano, Clavinet, melloton, organ, synthesizer, bass); Mike Bloomfield, Shuggie Otis, Stephen Stills, Caleb Quaye, Jimmy Vivino, Jerry Kennedy, Wayne Moss, Charlie Daniels, Stu Scharff, Ralph Casale, Mick Taylor (guitar); Fred Lipsius, Randy Brecker, Lew Soloff, Tom Malone (horns); Barry Goldberg (electric piano); Paul GRiffin (keyborads); Harvey Brooks, Stu Woods, Herbie Flowers, Will Lee, Charlie McCoy, John Miller, Neil Stubenhaus, Bobby West (bass); Eddie Hoh, Wells Kelly, Roger Pope, Anton Fig, Kenneth Buttrey, Rick Marotta, Al Rogers, Vince Colaiuta, Paul Humphries (drums); The Blossoms, Rita Coolidge (background vocals); The Blues Project; Blood, Sweat & Tears.
Producers include: Tom Wilson, John Simon, Al Kooper, Charles Calello.
Compilation producer: Al Kooper.
Recorded between 1964 and 2001. Includes liner notes by Jaan Uhlelszki and song annotations by Al Kooper.
Digitally remastered by Allan Tucker (Fotthill Digital, New York, New York).
Personnel: Al Kooper (vocals, guitar, flute, piano, celesta, organ, Mellotron, keyboards, synthesizer, vibraphone); Clydie King, Albertine Robinson, Donna Weiss, Dorothy Morrison, Fred Bliffert, Sherryl Marshall, Katherine Russell, Maretha Stewart, Gene Morford, Michael Gately, John Cowan, Liza Strike, Lou Christie, Madeline Bell, Melba Moore, Oren Waters, Rita Coolidge, Robert John, The Blossoms, Bill Lloyd, Tom Bahler, Valerie Simpson, Venetta Fields, Barry St. John, Hilda Harris, Etta Britt, Claudia Lennear, Eileen Gilbert (vocals); Jimmy Vivino (guitar, organ); Danny Kalb, Tom Cosgrove, Ralph Casale, Jerry Kennedy, Michael Bloomfield, Shuggie Otis, Stephen Stills, Steve Katz, Wayne Moss, Caleb Quaye, Charlie Daniels (guitar); Ed King (slide guitar); Jerry Douglas (lap steel guitar); John Simon (strings); Andy Kulberg (flute); Kirk "Jelly Roll" Johnson (harmonica); Joe Farrell (tenor saxophone, horns); Ernie Royal, Jeff Stout, Bernie Glow (trumpet); Jerry Weiss, Dick Halligan, Fred Lipsius, Ray DeSio, Jimmy Knepper, Marvin Stamm, Randy Brecker, Seldon Powell, Sol Schlinger, Tony Studd (horns); Barry Goldberg (piano); Paul Griffin (keyboards); Walter E. Sear (synthesizer, Theremin); Paul Humphries, Buddy Salzman, Roy Blumenfeld, Al Rogers, Tubby Zeigler, Fast Eddie Hoh, Kenny Buttrey, Anton Fig, Rick Marotta, Roger Pope, Roy Markowitz, Wells Kelly, Belton Evans, Bobby Colomby, John Gardner , Vinnie Colaiuta (drums).
Audio Remixers: Al Kooper; Mick Taylor ; Bill Szymczyk.
Liner Note Author: Jaan Uhelszki.
Recording information: Columbia Studios, Los Angeles, CA (1964-2001); Homesick Studios, Somerville, MA (1964-2001); Redwing Studios, Los Angeles, CA (1964-2001); Regent Sound Studios (1964-2001); Sound Emporium, Nashville, TN (1964-2001); Subterranean Homesick Studios, Green Hills, TN (1964-2001); The Bottom Line, New York, NY (1964-2001); The Cellar Door, Washington DC (1964-2001); The Enterprise, North Hollywood, CA (1964-2001); The Slammer, North Hollywood, CA (1964-2001); TK Studios, Hialeah, FL (1964-2001); Trident Studios, London, England (1964-2001).
Editor: Al Kooper.
Photographers: Gary Nichamin; Jim Scherer; Sam Emerson; Alice Ochs; John Byrne Cooke.
Arrangers: Joe Scott ; Fred Lipsius; John Simon ; Al Kooper; Artie Butler; Charles Calello.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 17 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Al Kooper

Product Info

  • UPC: 074646215326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.29/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)